Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about Decoy Launchers
Closed Thread
Old 29 Nov 2006, 09:57   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 103
Default Question about Decoy Launchers

Just to clarify, a weapon destroyed result on a vehicle with no weapons can't be rerolled by the decoy launchers, right?
Puppyblue is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 10:04   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

Literally, the Codex entry says "Whenever an Immobilized result is rolled on the Glancing Hit Vehicle Damage table...". That's pretty strict, and so I believe it applies only to the rolled result - eg. a glancing 5.
__________________
"I am an alien."

- Caboose, an alien
mike is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 12:06   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 312
Send a message via AIM to Utsujin Send a message via MSN to Utsujin Send a message via Yahoo to Utsujin
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

Basically the only use is if you move your vehicle alot, and that will destroy a skimmer, it gives you a chance so it isn't destroyed. Like he said, it only applied to immobilizied on the GLANCING table. Plain and simple.
__________________
Knowledge is power.



DH
W:24:2:L:4
Utsujin is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 17:26   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 435
Send a message via ICQ to Dagonus Send a message via AIM to Dagonus
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

I'm going to argue against that.

When a weapon destroyed result is rolled and there are no legal weapons, the rules say to treat it as an immobilized result. Now, since weapon destroyed in effect becomes an Immob (Putting 2 immobs on the glacing table effectively), you are then rolling an immobilization result. The rules don't say "IF you have no weapons you're immobilized" they say "treat this result as an immobilized result"(Page 67). Thus if you have no legitimate weapons to destroy and a weapon destroyed result comes up on the glancing table, it can be rerolled as an immobilized result.
__________________
There's no "r" in my name. Really. Trust me. Its just Dagonus.
Dagonus is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 18:34   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

That would be possible if the wording were different but the codex clearly says this on page 30:

Quote:
Whenever an Immobilised result is rolled on the Glancing Hit Vehicle Damage table, the Tau player may force his opponent to re-roll the dice.
Thus its not saying whenever the vehicle suffers an immobilisation result but when the immobilisation is actually rolled and even then only on the glancing hit table at that. When the result is rolled and not when the result comes up. Thats the way its worded. It would be nice if it had a wider function but from RAW that does not appear to be the case.
__________________



Vash113 is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 18:49   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 312
Send a message via AIM to Utsujin Send a message via MSN to Utsujin Send a message via Yahoo to Utsujin
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

Btw, what does RAW mean?
__________________
Knowledge is power.



DH
W:24:2:L:4
Utsujin is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 20:33   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 229
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Utsujin
Btw, what does RAW mean?
RAW stands for Rules As Written, and is a form of interpertation of said rules. It can be helpful and decisive, or annoying, abusive and frustrating depending on the circumstances and the player. But that's really it.
__________________

Arctic Lancer is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 20:40   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 435
Send a message via ICQ to Dagonus Send a message via AIM to Dagonus
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

Yes, you rolled an immobilization. the weapon destroyed is not a weapon destroyed but an immobilization. The table has 2 Immobilizations on it when the vehicle no longer has any weapons. it IS rolling an immobilization in accordance with teh codex
__________________
There's no "r" in my name. Really. Trust me. Its just Dagonus.
Dagonus is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 22:59   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

That would indeed make sense but its not written that way. It does not say you rolling a weapon destroyed is rolling an imobilisation, it says the result ends up being imobilisation. There is only one imobilisation on the table, but the same result can be achieved in a second way through weapon destroyed but its still weapon destroyed. Anything further is interpreting more than the rules say and thanks to GW and the RAW policy that does not work. Its a pain but its how its done.
__________________



Vash113 is offline  
Old 29 Nov 2006, 23:13   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,891
Default Re: Question about Decoy Launchers

The decoy launchers are really only good when paired with a Multi-Tracker. They only work when immobilization is rolled on the Glancing Hit Table, so saying they work when it's weapons destroyed and no weapons so immmobilized doesn't work. Yes this limits the effects of the Decoy Launchers by alot but it does take out a major pain in the neck for all mech and hybrid tau players.
__________________


Crisis 541 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decoy Launchers in the 5th ed. Major Newcents Tau 12 29 Oct 2008 04:28
Decoy Launchers ? Anders Tau 3 21 Oct 2008 17:26
Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question Wilhelm Erbauer Tau 21 29 May 2007 10:22
About decoy launchers. Courtyard Jester Tau 22 13 Feb 2006 23:36
Decoy Launchers UXO Tau 7 05 Apr 2005 21:42