Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New to Tau: Suits Army?
Closed Thread
Old 28 Nov 2006, 01:10   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default New to Tau: Suits Army?

Hi all. I am new to Tau and like the suits; crisis, stealth old and new, and broadsides. I would like to build my army around 2 fw squads with devilfish, and the rest would be suits. Maybe three stealth squads for elites two HQ with bodyguards, and some broadsides. can this work? if so what would you suggest?
Old 28 Nov 2006, 01:34   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: New to Tau: Suits Army?

Well, an all-suit army has be created and discussed. I suggest you use the search function.

However, if you want some ideas, I would be more than happy to expalin a few things:

A few problems with all-suit armies are: 1)cheesy appearance (min max troops/suits) 2) lack of models (every suit that goes down will hurt a lot) 3) lack of firepower (suits can't dish out enough for it's cost).

However there are several key advanatges. 1) Mass mid-high str/ap weapons. All the high AP/str weapons are found of suits, and with mass suits you get lots of powerful shots. However, most of the suits will be BS, so on average 1/2 will miss. 2)JSJ, probably the most annoying element of the Tau. Thei ability to shoot the enemy but they can't shoot back. This should easily protect your suits. 3)Scare tactics. Suits are usually known as 1 (or 2-3 man) shooting powerhouses, they usually can engage any target and the result is usually screaming/moaning and general explosions on the other side. So suits are pretty good.
Old 28 Nov 2006, 01:49   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O

I think your idea is a good one ;D
Stargazer, you said he didn't have enough firepower, but stealths dish out plenty of that...