Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Skimmers and Ordnance
Closed Thread
Old 13 Nov 2006, 22:42   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Default Skimmers and Ordnance

A question for the nomenklatura...

The big book states that any skimmer moving more than 6" reduces a 'penetrating' hit to a 'glancing' hit. But what about ordnance hits? Do these penetrating hits also become reduced to glancing?

I did not find any topic that addressed this; that could be because it is somewhat obvious in the rulebook, but I couldn't find it.

Thanks for any help,
v/r
Pugs
Pugsrcool is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2006, 22:46   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Libertyville, IL
Posts: 320
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordinance

The skimmers moving fast rule overrides it.
__________________
wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiii
canderous is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2006, 22:49   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 937
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordinance

I like to think of it in realistic terms:
if an autocannon dents a skimmer while it zipps along terrain, the rounds may refract off the vehicle. However, no matter where the skimmer is under an ordnance blast, it's still going to fry.
Frogger is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2006, 23:03   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordinance

Quote:
Originally Posted by canderous
The skimmers moving fast rule overrides it.
Ditto, the SMF rule says anything that beats its AV value still uses the glancing table.
__________________
The Orange is offline  
Old 13 Nov 2006, 23:31   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordinance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogger
I like to think of it in realistic terms:
if an autocannon dents a skimmer while it zipps along terrain, the rounds may refract off the vehicle. However, no matter where the skimmer is under an ordnance blast, it's still going to fry.
In realistic terms the ordanance shell is just as likely to bounce off the speeding skimmer and crash into the ground behind the speeding vehicle. Shrapnel and fragments may still impact the vehicle and it could be rocked by the explosion but it is very unlikely that something moving that fast would be able to be directly penetrated by flying ordanance.

Remember the vehicles classed as skimmers are all sleek shapes moving very quickly, Piranhas, Land Speeders, Raiders, Falcons, Wave Serpents, and even most Tau vehicles will be armed with Multi Trackers and be moving at high speeds aswell. Its not a Land Raider rolling indomitably down the street being blasted its a sleek moving skimmer that the shell may just glance off as it explodes which could well bring the more fragile vehicles down nevertheless but likely wont obliterate them like it would a slower moving ground based vehicle.

So that rationalised a bit I agree that the ordanance penetrating is still downed to a glancing hit.
__________________



Vash113 is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 00:46   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordnance

Please allow me some latitude to become the devil's advocate (as I actually play someone I believe to actually be on the devil's payroll).

1st point: The ordinance damage table for vehicles has a different name and spreadsheet

2nd point: The rules don't specifically state anything about ordinance, only penetrating hits.

3rd point: I really wish i actually had a third point; it would sound more impressive.

I play tau exclusively and would like very muchly for all hits on my vehicles to be glances. Can anyone cite a passage in the rule book I can use to argue my point?

~Cheers
Pugs
Pugsrcool is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 01:01   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordnance

As I recall, it simply states that hits that exceed the vehicle's army rating are downgraded to glancing. It makes no distinctions about what kind of weapon is involved. It doesn't even say penetrating hits, if I remember correctly, leading to that weird RaW loophole with AP1 weaponry.
khanaris is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 01:52   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 435
Send a message via ICQ to Dagonus Send a message via AIM to Dagonus
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordnance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaris
As I recall, it simply states that hit that exceed the vehicle's army rating are downgraded to glancing. It makes no distinctions about what kind of weapon is involved. It doesn't even say penetrating hits, if I remember correctly, leading to that weird RaW loophole with AP1 weaponry.
Yes, the rule does not say "Penetrating" but says "...hits that beat the Armor Value..."(Rulebook page 69). Thus, ordnance is covered by skimmers moving.
__________________
There's no "r" in my name. Really. Trust me. Its just Dagonus.
Dagonus is offline  
Old 14 Nov 2006, 02:29   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Skimmers and Ordnance

Note,

See rulebook FAQ about skimmers moving fast.
AP1 "loophole" is corrected. As is close combat against skimmers.
Ordnance only rolls on the ordnance chart when it does not glance.

When moving fast, no matter what, it's always glance only.

Simple as that.

Cheers!
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ordnance Battery field marshal Imperial Guard 16 29 Mar 2010 22:12
Ordnance Weapons Rob121 General 40K 3 17 Jul 2008 04:40
Do Skimmers block LOS to other skimmers/large targets? Olannon Tau 5 11 Oct 2006 01:59
Ordnance Question Shinsen General 40K 11 21 Jul 2006 17:49
Question on LOS to Skimmers? My Skimmers are dying to Know! Wolf-Tau Tau 32 13 Apr 2005 23:39