Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

What's a good HQ choice?
Closed Thread
Old 01 Nov 2006, 21:39   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default What's a good HQ choice?

Hi I'm new to warhammer 40k and just got a tau battleforce. Could anyone recommend a good HQ choice for a 1000 point army? I only have the units which came in the battleforce box, plus a gue'vesa squad, so I have few vehicles, and very little fast attack.
Old 01 Nov 2006, 22:17   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default Re: What's a good HQ choice?

Being new to 40k I would definitely recommend a Shas'O Battle Suit with the Fire Knife configuration, which is the Missile Pod and Plasma Rifle + multi tracker. It's got good range and hard strength. Some like to make it way more expensive but in my book you should stay away from close combat and therefore ignore all the enticing wargear that enhances your close combat abilities. Hope it helps.

-Khelben
I'll stare the xxxxxxx in the face as he screams to God, and I'll laugh harder when he whimpers like a baby. And when his eyes go dead, the hell I send him to will seem like heaven after what I've done to him.
Old 01 Nov 2006, 22:36   #3 (permalink)
lonely tau

well, for a begginer with a Tau army, there is absolutely no way that you can go wrong with a Tau crisis Commander Battlesuit ;D

Jokes aside ('cause I'm so funny :P) I would say Shas'El with Missile Pod, Plasma Rifle and Targetting Array (hard wired Multi-Tracker) giving you everything Khelben just said. if you find out that there arent too many Space Marine armies around you, or power-armored foes (Chaos Space Marines, Necrons, etc) then I would advise either taking a Misile Pod and Cyclic Ion Blaster or Burst Cannon, as they are our most effecient horde Killers (and tell me, what non-marine armies out there arent a tad hordey?).

That being said, I normally run a Commander with a CIB and Missile pod, as we already have a ton of S5 AP5 FIrepower.