Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Couple quick rules questions
Closed Thread
Old 06 Sep 2006, 20:50   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 349
Default Couple quick rules questions

First, is there any point in putting a bonding knife on this unit:

2 Broadsides w 2 shield drones (total)?
I know that the last broadside will have to take Last Man Standing, but I cannot remember if you can regroup after failing a LMS...

Second, if I have a Devilfish with both gun drones still attached, and I want to use a markerlight hit to give the DF +1 BS, to the drones get the benefit of that BS increase?

I have played that they do, since the drones are technically firing with a separate BS. They still have to fire at the same unit as the DF, and at the same time (the way I play it anyway).
__________________
Proudly banned from both Mech Tau Tactica and Advanced Tau Tactica by Kai'Lore. Kai'Lore has no honor and the fact that my mere presence reminds him of this is more than his cowardly person can bear. He banned me from the new site after less than a day. =)
heliodorus04 is offline  
Old 06 Sep 2006, 20:58   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Otley, Yorkshire, England
Posts: 206
Default Re: Couple quick rules questions

Yes, it is. The two gun drones couynt as members of the nunit, so loseing the three models, you are below 505, and therefore cannot rally. Personaly, I take BK for every unit, apart from the odd two man units I occationaly have kicking around.

For the second point, I would say they don't get the bonus, as it says they fire like passengers, and are therefore in effect a different unit. You'll need to cheak the main rule book for the firing points rule to make sure.
Aun shi is offline  
Old 06 Sep 2006, 21:05   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 349
Default Re: Couple quick rules questions

Okay, you make one good point - if the last broadside fails a test for whatever reason OTHER than LMS, the bonding knife allows it to rally. Subsequent to that, it must still take LMS every turn, and I'm unclear as to whether you can EVER rally if you fail LMS...

As for drones and being "passengers" - Drones ONLY count as passengers "for purposes of the vehicle taking damage". Read the armoury entry for drones again, it's very clear.
__________________
Proudly banned from both Mech Tau Tactica and Advanced Tau Tactica by Kai'Lore. Kai'Lore has no honor and the fact that my mere presence reminds him of this is more than his cowardly person can bear. He banned me from the new site after less than a day. =)
heliodorus04 is offline  
Old 06 Sep 2006, 21:43   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia Brisbane QLD
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to flowerfall
Default Re: Couple quick rules questions

I'd Let you do it but let me make a comparison. The Daemonhunters also get a +1 balistic skill in the hq retinue and it only affects the Inquisitor, not the other warrior guardsmen he may have in his retinue/ Not his transport either for that matter. Due to having seperate balistic skill and firing seperately I'd assume that the extra balistic skill for your drones is a no go. But me personally, 'd let you do it ( only because I'd like my drones freaking hit something )
__________________
It is wrong always, everywhere and for everyone to believe anything upon insufficient evidence.
Without doubt you are not sane.
Priests will pardon thieves but not philosophers.
flowerfall is offline  
Old 06 Sep 2006, 21:48   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Couple quick rules questions

I would say that because the drones are normally forced to fire at the same target as the Devilfish, they also benefit from a Markerlight used by the Devilfish. By the same token, an independent character who has joined a unit would benefit from Markerlights assigned to that unit, but he can not split fire without a target lock.
khanaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New and satisfied daemon player, couple quick questions Seyah Chaos Daemons 9 01 Sep 2009 22:05
Couple quick questions rotwiler Necrons 2 01 Sep 2009 02:15
Couple questions! Rules clarification and bitz buying! Lawlcat Tau 8 28 Jul 2008 02:11
A few quick rules questions canderous Forces of Chaos 7 14 Dec 2006 22:05
Couple of quick questions pettsy Orks 2 14 Jun 2006 19:59