Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Piranhas and drones
Reply
Old 03 Sep 2006, 22:20   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 372
Default Piranhas and drones

Has there been an official ruling for what happens when drones disembark from piranhas? Do they form one large unit, or several smaller units of two? Furthermore, does a markerlight benefit a piranha and its drones (as long as the drones are still mounted)?
__________________

Radix malorum est cupiditas.
Silverwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Sep 2006, 22:32   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverwing
Has there been an official ruling for what happens when drones disembark from piranhas? Do they form one large unit, or several smaller units of two? Furthermore, does a markerlight benefit a piranha and its drones (as long as the drones are still mounted)?
We have had no official ruling on the first, nor do we know what happens to the other drones in the squadron when one Piranha in a squadron goes down or is penetrated. My current house ruling on it is that all the drones disembark at the same time, forming one non-scoring unit, but only when the disembarkation is voluntary. If involuntary, the drones can end up split into smaller units.

As for the second question, I would say that the Markerlight benefits both. The specific text mentions that the drones fire as part of the vehicles, although they use their own BS. This means that they benefit from Markerlights, but they can not split fire without a Target Lock on the vehicle.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 Sep 2006, 23:05   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 372
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

Thanks a ton for your quick response. I have another question, however.

Is there an official ruling as to what happens if one of the piranha's gets immobilized or otherwised is forced to stop moving? As in, can it be left behind, or is the entire unit stopped?
__________________

Radix malorum est cupiditas.
Silverwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2006, 00:13   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverwing
Thanks a ton for your quick response. I have another question, however.

Is there an official ruling as to what happens if one of the piranha's gets immobilized or otherwised is forced to stop moving? As in, can it be left behind, or is the entire unit stopped?
Ah, this one I do have an answer for. The relevant passage is on page 73 of the main rulebook. Basically, the rest of the squadron has to choose to either remain within coherency of the stopped vehicle or else abandon it, in which case the stopped vehicle counts as destroyed.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2006, 03:12   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

Pg. 31 of the Tau Empires Codex says "All Gun drones in a Piranha squad must disembark at the same time, forming one unit," but this leads to some fun coherency issues, and doesn't address the emergency disembarkation at all.

I agree with Khanaris on all of his above points. However, I'm sketchy on whether a vehicle squadron can "circle" around a stunned skimmer, moving over 6" individually but still remaining within 4" of the stunned vehicle. The infantry movement rules state that a unit must move at the speed of its slowest model, but the vehicle squadron movement section doesn't have a corollary passage. It just says they can either "remain within 4" or abandon the stunned/immobilized vehicle," not whether they can move while remaining within 4" or not.
Malphax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2006, 03:55   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

They took away the "move in a circle for more than 6" rule". In 3rd many players used that and got their skimmer out of harms way very easily, however now that loophole is gone.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2006, 10:47   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

Well, I didn't mean to actually move in a circle, but to circle around the stunned vehicle.

If your mobile skimmer is 4" away from the stunned one, you can move 7" directly across it, and voila! You're still within unit coherency, you haven't abandoned your wingman, and you've moved over 6". It's damage mitigation.
Malphax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2006, 12:17   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England, Somerset
Posts: 342
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malphax
Pg. 31 of the Tau Empires Codex says "All Gun drones in a Piranha squad must disembark at the same time, forming one unit," but this leads to some fun coherency issues, and doesn't address the emergency disembarkation at all.
This is definitely true. And it could possibly be argued that if any drones are forced to disembark then all must, or, leave the disembarked drones behind (counts as destroyed?).

Which is not to say this comes close to a definititve ruling either, just an alternative house rule if you are feeling a little stricter.

Best,
Gram
__________________
Gramlin's in the System!
Gramlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 Sep 2006, 20:00   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malphax
Well, I didn't mean to actually move in a circle, but to circle around the stunned vehicle.

If your mobile skimmer is 4" away from the stunned one, you can move 7" directly across it, and voila! You're still within unit coherency, you haven't abandoned your wingman, and you've moved over 6". It's damage mitigation.
This is correct. And because only one vehicle absolutely needs to be within 4", the other Piranhas can sweep out much further, as long as the squadron as a whole remains in coherency.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Sep 2006, 17:56   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Franklin Tennessee
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Piranha's and drones

That's how I keep em moving forward and keep em alive after one gets stunned.
__________________
Click the link and give me 10 views toward 10 million dollars. THIS MEANS YOU!!!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/view_play_lis...A7B2D8911D19D2
israfel420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Piranhas, Sniper Drones, Stealth Suits and Pathfinders in normal games. noahfidanque Tau 26 12 Nov 2009 18:49
Piranhas, to use them, or not to use them... Dtram Tau 5 16 Jul 2008 11:49
Piranhas in 5th. slo_tau Tau 9 25 May 2008 19:21
Piranhas and their Drones cheeseman Tau 44 12 May 2006 19:19
Tau Piranhas Ultima Weapon Games Workshop News and Rumours 3 15 Jan 2006 00:35