Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

IS this a good army for a 40k Newbie??
Closed Thread
Old 26 Aug 2006, 05:18   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default IS this a good army for a 40k Newbie??

I had abit of a shopping spree last night because i was thinking of starting up a Tau army, i started playing as Nids but i just liked Tau more

Heres the army i'll have in a few days (well next month for the mega pack) And i'll just copy the order form i got in the email

3 Tau Pathfinders with Rail Rifles
1 Tau Sniper Drone Team
1 Tau Commander Shadowsun
1 Tau Aun'Va - Master of the Undying Spirit (3 figures scenic base)
1 Tau Fire Warriors (12 models)
1 Tau Hammerhead Tank
1 Tau XV8 Battlesuit
Tau XV25 Stealth Armour

Tau Empire Megaforce
Featuring
2 Crisis Suits
3 Stealth Suits (and Markerlight Drone)
20 Fire Warriors
6 Gun Drones
3 Piranha's
Devilfish APC
Hammerhead Gunship

1 Kroot Carnivore Squad (16 models)
2 Tau XV88 Broadside Battlesuit
1 Commander O Shovah

I was just wondering if this is a good army for a newbie and if anyone could give me some tactics and stuff because i've only recently got into liking warhammer
Old 26 Aug 2006, 05:49   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal

Default Re: IS this a good army for a 40k Newbie??

Wow...that is a pretty big force to paint(and convert if you like a different look).

Almost all the units are good, but you will need some training.

Why on earth would you have A farsight model, Aun'va and shaodow sun model in one go? All those models are very hard to use and also they clash really bad. But you can convert the O'shovah into your shas'O or shas'el(whichever you like). The best option is actually if you go hybrid for now, as it is the most balanced army of them all.