Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

A.F.P. question
Closed Thread
Old 25 Aug 2006, 08:57   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 197
Default A.F.P. question

THis may be a silly question but i just recently bought an A.F.P. for my army and am very impressed by it. But I do have one question, does it require LOS it seems to me that it shouldn't as it is just launching them into the air and they rain down on top so if you are hiding behind a wall i cant see you i just launch it over and bam. It doesnt say it in the rules so i want to check if it is an oversight or what not.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Tanks are not offensive vehicles, they are a bunker that moves.
ZaruTal is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 09:50   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 959
Default Re: A.F.P. question

Nope! The AFP does not require LOS. Just remember though, without LOS, the scatter is 2d6 and take the highest.
__________________
Peace through Superior Firepower! =^.^=
KCKitsune is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 09:54   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default Re: A.F.P. question

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCKitsune
Nope! The AFP does not require LOS. Just remember though, without LOS, the scatter is 2d6 and take the highest.
Nope, the scatter is 1D6.

You must be within the 18" to fire it as well.
__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 11:14   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 219
Default Re: A.F.P. question

Quote:
Originally Posted by crisis_vyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCKitsune
Nope! The AFP does not require LOS. Just remember though, without LOS, the scatter is 2d6 and take the highest.
Nope, the scatter is 1D6.
How do you figure that?

-drodgers

__________________
"The strength of your force may be calculated by multiplying it's weight by it's velocity. Strive always to maximize both" - Commander Puertide

"For the Greater Good!"
drodgers is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 12:32   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default Re: A.F.P. question

Quote:
Originally Posted by drodgers
Quote:
Originally Posted by crisis_vyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCKitsune
Nope! The AFP does not require LOS. Just remember though, without LOS, the scatter is 2d6 and take the highest.
Nope, the scatter is 1D6.
How do you figure that?

-drodgers


The reason why it is only 1D6 plus scatter dice is beacuse it is not a indirect fire weapon. It may scatter, but the AFP is not an indirect fire weapon.
__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 13:04   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 959
Default Re: A.F.P. question

Quote:
Originally Posted by crisis_vyper
The reason why it is only 1D6 plus scatter dice is beacuse it is not a indirect fire weapon. It may scatter, but the AFP is not an indirect fire weapon.
The AFP is an indirect fire weapon. You do not need LOS to use it... most of the reason to take one in a City Fight.
__________________
Peace through Superior Firepower! =^.^=
KCKitsune is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 13:30   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,409
Default Re: A.F.P. question

Ummm...see that "G" in front of 18" in the entry? That means it's indirect fire.

So yes, if your target is out of LOS, then it's 2d6 and pick the highest.
orion549 is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 13:34   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 14,585
Default Re: A.F.P. question

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCKitsune
The AFP is an indirect fire weapon.* You do not need LOS to use it... most of the reason to take one in a City Fight.
Sorry. What I mean that if it is in LOS, i1D6, if you want to fire indirect ,it is 2D6 andchoose the higest number. Sorry again. :P

Check Pg 31 of the rulebook to know the rules further.

__________________
Guide to keeping:
Scorpions : Corn Snakes : Basilisks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emlyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT
They're an insane bunch of reptiles...
I wasn't asking about the moderating staff.
crisis_vyper is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 16:11   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: A.F.P. question

What makes the A.F.P. different from most Guess Range weapons is that there are no penalties for moving while firing it. But the LOS inaccuracies are still there.
khanaris is offline  
Old 25 Aug 2006, 16:32   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Otley, Yorkshire, England
Posts: 206
Default Re: A.F.P. question

well, if it did have movement penalties at that range, nobody would take it! I love this weapon! It has proven its worth many a time against even marines. I don't recommend putting it on a commander though, as thats a waste o fhiss improved BS.
Aun shi is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34