Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?
Closed Thread
Old 06 Aug 2006, 10:08   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 92
Default Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

I posted a topic about pathfinders and giving the shas marker drones and TL and having him and his drones light up a seperate unit to the rest of the squad. Is this possible as it's called a "drone controller" and a vehicle with TL can have its drones fire at a seperate unit. It makes sense to me.
Falconrider is offline  
Old 06 Aug 2006, 11:54   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,794
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

No, they must have a twin-linked weapon to operate as if they had one. It would make no sense that they would gain a commander's weapon abilities through a comm-link.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
Falstead: I don't think you can ever justify a T5 goat in a regular 40k game
Lord_Veqq has joined TauOnline.
Guest6363: SEMENATION COMPLETE
Lord_Veqq has left TauOnline.
ToastMaster is offline  
Old 06 Aug 2006, 14:15   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 92
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

I meant to say that if the shas has target lock do the drones benefit from his target lock and fire alongside him to a diff target to the unit.
Falconrider is offline  
Old 06 Aug 2006, 21:14   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falconrider
I meant to say that if the shas has target lock do the drones benefit from his target lock and fire alongside him to a diff target to the unit.
Not as the rules are now. They don't get all the upgrades the Shas'ui has, so they don't have a Target Lock and can't branch fire away from the squad. There is nothing to say that they have to fire at the same target as the model with the drone controller. It makes sense given the fluff, but there is nothing in the codex to support it.
khanaris is offline  
Old 06 Aug 2006, 21:41   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Franklin Tennessee
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

Good I was hoping I was interpreting the rules correctly.
__________________
Click the link and give me 10 views toward 10 million dollars. THIS MEANS YOU!!!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/view_play_lis...A7B2D8911D19D2
israfel420 is offline  
Old 06 Aug 2006, 22:53   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 990
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

They're part of the unit. Drone controllers don't actually do or mean anything other than letting you TAKE the drones. Not part of the model that bought'em, just part of his unit, which is why most of us avoid giving drones to commanders most of the time. Turns it into a unit.

Until the guy with it dies, that is. Then the drones attached to that controller deactivate also (dead, really).
Nova is offline  
Old 06 Aug 2006, 23:36   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 92
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

I get your points on it now. Shame it doesn't work that way though.
Falconrider is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 05:35   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COLUMBUS, OHIO
Posts: 178
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

OK - so i gotta question or two. if a commander has drones,
does that stop him from attaching to other units?

i seem to remember reading somewhere that it doesn't.

if this is true and said commander had a target lock,
who do the drones shoot with after he attaches?
commander or unit?

__________________
"DAMN THE POINT EFFECIENCY, I ALWAYS MOUNT 3 WEAPONS!!!"
biggdawggnt is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 05:38   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 646
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggdawggnt
OK - so i gotta question or two. if a commander has drones,
does that stop him from attaching to other units?

i seem to remember reading somewhere that it doesn't.

if this is true and said commander had a target lock,
who do the drones shoot with after he attaches?
commander or unit?
The IC and the drones form a unit, but can still join other units.

The Drones fire with the unit, since they are part of it. A Target Lock allows the model bearing it fire at a different target than the main unit. This has no affact on the rest of the unit. Since drones are part of the unit, they fire with the unit.
__________________
[center]Till shade is gone,
Till water is gone,
Into the Shadow with teeth bared,
Screaming defiance with the last breath,
To spit in Sightblinder's eye on the Last Day.

"Dovie'andi se tovya sagain"

Learn to shorten your reach! If your foe can come close enough to negate your striking power, all stratagem is lost, and when all stratagem is lost, the battle is lost.

Tell me now, is there a man among you here, is there no one who will stand up and try to fight? Tell me man, is there not one in all your ranks, is there no one who values courage over life?
Deus is offline  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 05:41   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 990
Default Re: Can drones controlled by a shas benefit from his TL?

Which means you never need more than N-1 target locks, where N is the number of models in your unit.
Nova is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5th edition stuff to benefit Necrons Dawnthief Necrons 7 23 Jan 2009 08:29
How to abuse 5th edition wound allocation rules for your own benefit knightperson Tau 12 24 Sep 2008 12:10
Tau Special Character - Ka’ra’Shas’O Shas’etra Su Monat Li’Sun’yi Circus Freak House Rules 8 26 Dec 2007 00:54
hail the enemys of the tau in this new game controlled by...mee minor tau marc Other Games 8 02 Dec 2005 17:30
Radio controlled Predator done GreyDeath Conversion 4 30 May 2005 18:33