Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

General help vs IG
Closed Thread
Old 01 Aug 2006, 22:45   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default General help vs IG

First Post! First Post! Wheee!

Though I'm not exactly new to 40k, I'm new to Tau. I have a 500pt (non-patrol) game coming up against at least one IG player (unsure of composition or terrain). The board will probably be roughly 4x4.

I've played against them as an Eldar player in 3rd ed but I'm still pretty new to 4th ed and Tau. IG was Public Enemy #1 to me in 3rd, and I'm assuming that hasn't changed.

Indirect fire has me worried, and without a quickly-deployable HtH unit, I'm stumped about tying up his infantry. In a small format game, how do you deal with IG? Or large-format, for that matter?

I've got one unit each of kroot (+shaper+hounds), XV8s and stealth suits, 2 units of fire warriors and pathfinders. No tanks yet. Is there any general tactical advice you veterans can offer?
Old 01 Aug 2006, 22:51   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Send a message via AIM to MechTau
Default Re: General help vs IG

First of all use your Fire Warriors to slaughter his infantry!

Remember that your Kroot are awesome in assault against guard.

I'd reccomend deepstriking a Deathrain (Twin-linked Missiles and a Targetting Array) to deal with a bassilisk.

Unless this indirect fire is from motars? If so, just infiltrate your kroot and eat them

Also, drop the pathfinders for now and replace with plain fire warriors. You could even say that these elite Tau have been gifted with special helmets, and look at this special short barreled pulse rifle they got!

Open invitation to all: Send me a pm, and I'll be have a look at your army list.
[url=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=11198.0]Crisis Suit Theory, Army Composition, and why Fireknives suck - You've got to read this classic by T0nka
Old 01 Aug 2006, 23:20   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El

Heres a list I would suggest for fighting IG on a 500 point army.