Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

crew stunned and disembarking
Closed Thread
Old 17 Jul 2006, 10:01   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 219
Default crew stunned and disembarking

If a transport is immobilized or stunned can the crew still dismbark?

The guy at my local GW said that if the vehicle is unable to move, then infantrycannot disembark that turn, however I can see no wording to this effect in the rulebook; it simply says that the vehicle cannot move, nothing about disembarking is mentioned.

could anyone shed any light on this problem?

Thanks


-drodgers
__________________
"The strength of your force may be calculated by multiplying it's weight by it's velocity. Strive always to maximize both" - Commander Puertide

"For the Greater Good!"
drodgers is offline  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 10:40   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portal to the New world
Posts: 558
Default Re: crew stunned and disembarking

Your right, and your freind is wrong.
It clearly states that the Crew is stunned, not the passengers.
You may dissembark the transport.
To strenghten this fact, take the penetrating hits rule.
All penetrating hits forces the passengers to dissembark, as they dont want to be in the "steel coffin".
With that said, the passengers dont want to be in something that will most likely get blown up soon.


Yours Truly

Vash
__________________


It's just a game... have fun!
Vash is offline  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 10:49   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 219
Default Re: crew stunned and disembarking

Thanks for clearing that up, I may still have trouble trying to convince the Games Workshop guy though.
__________________
"The strength of your force may be calculated by multiplying it's weight by it's velocity. Strive always to maximize both" - Commander Puertide

"For the Greater Good!"
drodgers is offline  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 12:29   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Retired back into the depths of the Internets.
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to mace
Default Re: crew stunned and disembarking

More Specifically, it says on page 67 of the Rulebook for both Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned that "Passengers may not shoot from within the vehicle next turn, but are otherwise unaffected."

That of course means exactly as you read it, they can't shoot, but can still do anything else they would usually be able to do - i.e. disembark.
__________________
mace is offline  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 13:39   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 219
Default Re: crew stunned and disembarking

Thanks, that quote should enable me to convince him, it really sets if out plainly.
__________________
"The strength of your force may be calculated by multiplying it's weight by it's velocity. Strive always to maximize both" - Commander Puertide

"For the Greater Good!"
drodgers is offline  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 15:09   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: crew stunned and disembarking

The reason this argument came is is probably due to 3rd ed. In 3rd ed a stunned vehicle could not disembark it's passengers. However 4th ed changed the way vehicles and transports work fairly significantly.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline  
Old 17 Jul 2006, 15:31   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 349
Default Re: crew stunned and disembarking

Quote:
Originally Posted by .mace
More Specifically, it says on page 67 of the Rulebook for both Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned that "Passengers may not shoot from within the vehicle next turn, but are otherwise unaffected."

That of course means exactly as you read it, they can't shoot, but can still do anything else they would usually be able to do - i.e. disembark.
If they disembark, they may also fire, as they're no longer "within the vehicle." The only time you can't fire after disembarking regardless of the tank's condition is for Entanglement.

It's often a good idea to disembark gun drones from a fish that got shaken/stunned. It's always a good idea to disembark the passengers from a stunned vehicle.
__________________
Proudly banned from both Mech Tau Tactica and Advanced Tau Tactica by Kai'Lore. Kai'Lore has no honor and the fact that my mere presence reminds him of this is more than his cowardly person can bear. He banned me from the new site after less than a day. =)
heliodorus04 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turning to Face/Crew Stunned Question Elliott General 40K 21 20 Nov 2007 20:30
Monolith Shaken/Stunned karnij7877 Necrons 6 18 Nov 2007 16:43
Landing Gear + Crew Stunned RCanine Tau 2 18 Feb 2007 03:53
Slightly stunned ookazi49 Orks 16 07 May 2006 16:10
Seeker Missiles + Crew Stunned/Shaken mace Tau 0 09 Oct 2005 02:33