Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Is this legal?
Closed Thread
Old 12 Jul 2006, 13:03   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default Is this legal?

Hi all,
just wondering if i've missed something here and just want to make sure...

In city fight ive been using a crisis suit with a burst cannon and plasma rifle and multitracker.
Could I use it with a twin-linked burst cannon and plasma rifle and a HW multitracker, so I could fire both weapon systems each turn, but re-roll the misses from the burst cannons?

That seems like a very nice improvement for a small points cost increase.

Of course there are other options if it works, such as twin-linked fusion blaster and a plasma rifle, with HW multitracker for taking out carnifexes. ;D
Xeno Hunter is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 13:21   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Re: Is this legal?

As far as I know its perfectly legal. Infact its something I intend to do with a battlesuit of my own.
Gafgarion is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 13:27   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 83
Default Re: Is this legal?

It would have to be on a Team Leader or a Shas'vre as a twinlinked weapon counts as two weapon systems. See page 25 of the codex.
Glon is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 13:28   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: Is this legal?

Cool, thanks. I know the hard wired multitracker, doesnt count towards the three points of wargear, so we can customise our crisis suits very well indeed.

For the small cost of upgrading one of our suits weapon systems to a twin-linked version we get a lot more reliability for a small cost increase. I guess we could add a cheap HW target lock for suits in big groups as well. That just adds another layer of versatility.

Ok, to keep this thread up and useful, everybody post your best crisis suit options for...

Anti - infantry
Anti - SM/necrons
Anti - monsters
Anti - tanks

For anti infantry id go for TL burst cannons and a flamer with HW multitracker.
Anti SM/necrons - TL plasma rifles, fusion blaster and HW multitracker.
Anti monsters - As above.

Sorry for the other entausiasm, but ive only been playing 40K for around 5 months and im getting excited at the possibility of defeating my opponent, who's a veteran of 10 odd years.
Xeno Hunter is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 13:55   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 526
Default Re: Is this legal?

A twinlinked weapon counts as two weapon systems HOWEVER it only counts as one weapon Hence it is possible to fire a twinlinked weapon and normal weapon on the same turn with a multitraker
Solourus is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 15:32   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 59
Default Re: Is this legal?

cyclonic ion blaster,
twin linked fusion blaster,
hard wired multi tracker,
missile pod,
stimulant injector,
hw tracker
Necromancer is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 15:34   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 251
Default Re: Is this legal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solourus
A twinlinked weapon counts as two weapon systems HOWEVER it only counts as one weapon Hence it is possible to fire a twinlinked weapon and normal weapon on the same turn with a multitraker
:rockon: rock on loopholes!! for anti tank twinlinked fusion blasters and a sheild gen is a tasty combo, or a missle pod
__________________
Gentlemen, it is a nuclear device. TIME IS RUNNING OUT!!
OVladimir is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 16:03   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 83
Default Re: Is this legal?

Let us clarify. A twin linked weapon counts as two weapons when it comes to taking up spots on your suit, but only counts as one weapon when shooting.
Glon is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 16:10   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: Is this legal?

Correct. This is because you can only kill as many as you would with one non-linked weapon, but your just paying more points for increased probability of hitting.
Xeno Hunter is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2006, 16:11   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 59
Default Re: Is this legal?

And you can hold more weapons on a commander
Necromancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH, WH and IG... is it legal? Jeff The Inquisition 10 01 Nov 2007 12:12
is this legal? biggdawggnt Space Marines 15 20 Jun 2006 19:17
Is this legal? Omen Tau 9 27 May 2006 02:52
Is this Legal?? Morridin19 Tau 11 15 Apr 2006 23:52
This is legal right? SpacePuppy Space Marines 17 24 Mar 2006 20:55