Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New to Tau, and need advice against a Chaos close-combat army.
Closed Thread
Old 05 Jul 2006, 15:09   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default New to Tau, and need advice against a Chaos close-combat army.

Hi I am new to Tau and need some advice about army compostion, my friend (who I will probably be playing with alot) is building a khorne assult army based around eilte world eaters with "feel no pain" and "Fleet" I am planning to face him in a 400 point battle to start with, and I would like to know how you would deal with this army.
My friend will likley be fielding 2 squads (between 5 and 8 ) of beefed up world eaters with feel no pain and a commander with 5 wounds feel no pain, a 12" move and a 12" charge.
should I take mechanized firewarriors and crisis suits, or try to construct a static defense?

Seeker missiles immediatly came to mind as their S8 would instant kill ignoring feel no pain, owever the only way to get enough on the field would be a sky ray which seems alot of points for one opening salvo.

Your advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

"For the Greater Good!"
Old 05 Jul 2006, 16:40   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Send a message via MSN to Siruk
Default Re: New to tau and neeed advice against a chaos cc army

Well I aint no expert, but what anti-tank equipment is he taking? cause if there is no or very little of it, you may aswell throw some firewarriors in a devilfish and FoF them to bits

Old 05 Jul 2006, 17:45   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El

Keep on the move. Standing still and shooting and praying you kill everything before it gets to you is not good strategy, especially against a fast army geared towards assault. Stay mechanized, and avoid assault at all costs.

Kill off all of the fast things, such as Raptors, first. They can really hurt you quickly.