Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Rules Clarification
Closed Thread
Old 09 Dec 2004, 04:35   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,840
Send a message via MSN to Khaldun
Default Rules Clarification

Let's say I take a Shas'el battlesuit with two attached drones as a squadron by itself. If I lose both of the drones, does the crisis have to make an "all on your own" test every turn?
__________________
War is cruelty. There is no use trying to reform it; the crueler it is, the sooner it will be over. - General William Sherman
Khaldun is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2004, 10:47   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 387
Default Re: Rules Clarification

No shas'el is independent character and thus doesn't need to roll last man standing in any case.
Rogen is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2004, 12:32   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Rules Clarification

Really? Where does it say that?

As I understand it, an Indepentent Character makes a single "all on your own" test if his squad is lost. If he passes, he does not need to take it again. If he fails, he falls back, but may attempt to rally as normal.

As for the Shas'El... I do not believe drones ever actually count towards morale checks... but I could be mistaken.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2004, 13:39   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 387
Default Re: Rules Clarification

New rulebook states that independent characters never test for last man standing. (Not sure about page, but it's in the character section)
Also there they say that Independent character is always treated as this (plus some more rules).

Also the TAU codex states that the drones are counted toward unit size and morale checks.

But the commander need to test for morale as his unit lost more than 50% of models first if he lost all drones.
Rogen is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2004, 17:43   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Rules Clarification

What about a broadside unit consisting of a single suit + drones? It was stated in the errata that single battlesuits don't need to take LMS tests, but it didn't specify about drones, as I recall.
khanaris is offline  
Old 09 Dec 2004, 17:55   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 476
Default Re: Rules Clarification

A single suit (in other words, a squad of one model) never has to take "All On Your Own" tests; it started the battle as a single model, and is presumed to be used to fighting all by his lonesome!

However, adding drones increases the size of the squad, and (as stated above) does count against the total numbers of the squad. In such case, if the Suit lost both of his drones, he would have to start taking "All On Your Own" tests.
Zoomer is offline  
Old 10 Dec 2004, 19:02   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Burtonsville, MD
Posts: 239
Send a message via AIM to Aegis Guard
Default Re: Rules Clarification

He would indeed have to start taking tests. "All on your own" tests are meant to represent a persons insticts of self preservation. Even if the broadside guy doesn't really care about the drones, seeing them swatted out of the air by lascannons might make him think, "maybe the next one is for me! Yipe!"
__________________
The Emperor Protects, I destroy
Aegis Guard is offline  
Old 12 Dec 2004, 02:36   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to JarredHTG
Default Re: Rules Clarification

Wargamer is close, He does not have to take an all on your own test ever. He does however have to take a test for a squad recieving over 25% casualties despite becoming independent after their death
__________________
"The victorious army first realizes the conditions for victory, and then seeks to engage in battle. The vanquished army fights first, and then seeks victory." - Sun Tzu -
JarredHTG is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help with some rules clarification. Watchdog General 40K 3 22 Feb 2009 21:32
40K rules clarification Diavolos1981 General 40K 6 24 Apr 2007 17:06
Tau rules clarification Diavolos1981 Tau 5 12 Apr 2007 05:16
Rules clarification from GW Ketter Tau 8 01 Nov 2006 23:48
HQ Rules clarification Fulminata Space Marines 24 27 Jan 2006 22:30