Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Would like some advice against an Eldar army
Closed Thread
Old 18 Jun 2006, 10:00   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Would like some advice against an Eldar army

I have very little knowledge of the Eldar. I am quite new to 40k as a whole as well as Tau. I play against an Eldar player and although I don't know the names of the units etc. but maybe I can describe what I am up against. The guy usually only deploys a Seer Council or something on the first turn with about a dozen or so guys in it. It seems every one has psychic abilities. He then on the second turn usually(maybe because we've played escalation several times,not sure) creates some kind of portals and then out jump like 60 Guardians( I think) and several units lightly armored vehicles. He ends up with rerolls on many invulnerable as well as regular saves.

I've just had a tough time, it isn't a massacre(I lose of course) but I can't figure out how to tip the scales at all and effectively negate all of his psychic abilities, invulnerable saves and rerolls on everything.

If i've been to vague, I apologize. Any sugestions would be greatly appreciated. Game size has usually been 1850-2000 points if that helps.
Old 18 Jun 2006, 10:45   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default Re: Would like some advice against an Eldar army

wow, to be a new player and have to face an ulthwe seer council. Boy are you getting screwed over.

first thing you need to do is show us your list, and try to get a copy of his list. with that information we can probably help you a lot more.

but in the meantime, take 3 hammerheads with railguns and use submunitions on him every turn. he has to fail those tests some time.

normally I would say 3 is overkill, but if he is playing an ulthwe army against you and your new, then he deserves everything coming to him.
Old 18 Jun 2006, 11:05   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El

Send a message via AIM to MechTau