Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Quick question that can save lives!
Reply
Old 18 May 2006, 20:01   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia USA
Posts: 410
Send a message via AIM to comanchieflier
Default Quick question that can save lives!

Can a Hammerhead with multitracker tank shock, and then fire? Because MT allows us to fire as a fast vehicle, not move as one. Since you must move the maximum, you move 12 inches And under fast shooting that means we can still fire.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Not So Lonely Tau
you have something that makes fun of jesus, obviously a good person...
Quote:
Originally Posted by freezing
comanchieflier recieves a mobile phone that can only do "leet speak" messages.
comanchieflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 20:09   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

Yup.

If your hammerhead (or any Tank) has a multi tracker it may move up to 12" and still shoot.

If part of this move is a tank shock you're still allowed to fire (provided he doesn't kill on a Death-or-glory attack!)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 20:31   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: HelHeim
Posts: 652
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

skimmers can deth or glory?
__________________
With The People For The People! And when I say people I mean Me! :P
minor tau marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 20:53   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: pilton
Posts: 55
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

Yes skimmers can tank shock if thats what you mean, death or glory is what the unit (victim)being charged does. It is clearly stated in the rulebook.
__________________
riddle:
what is the future but never the present,
what is coming but never arrives?



Answer: tomorrow
Artemis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 21:03   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,891
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

Yeah put a Multi tracker and fletchette luancher on a Burt Ion head is evil to the extreme. If every goes to plan and every body dies thats 10 dead models. Fun ehh.
__________________


Crisis 541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 21:15   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sandy Eggo
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

Skimmers are better at facing Tank Shock than regular tanks as well... why?

Because the death or glory guy gets only one attack... and still can hit a skimmer on only a 6!!!

I dont think Fletchette Dischargers would work in a tank shock the way most people would think it might (tank shock and Whoosh! out go the steel needles!), but it could kill off a death or glory Powerfist SMurf before he deaths or glories (and prays to the dice gawd for a 6), and also prevent a counter charge of nasty folks with melta bombs.. but that woul be during the opponents' turn..

;D after typing this thought train through... it just occured to me how unfair a Skimming fletchete tank vs a Ground-pounder is... S4,AP- hit against every single oncomer, affecting them before they get to return strike.... and yet they still only hit on a 6!!! its more a deterrent than a protection mechanism... it really doesnt safe the tank much at all, it just abues the assaulters.. thereby making the opposing player really think about the risk involved in even bothering!

"hmm he auto hits all 10 of my tankbustas, and any survivors get only a single attack and hit only on a 6... oh, AND if he moved over 6" last turn any hits I do manage is a glance ONLY??? OH! FOR-GET it!!!!
__________________
Though I walk through the valley of the swarms of the clueless, I shall fear no idiocy, for the M-STAR flagged them 12 seconds ago, and the JDAMS are already freefalling.
Calaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 21:31   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaban
Skimmers are better at facing Tank Shock than regular tanks as well... why?

Because the death or glory guy gets only one attack... and still can hit a skimmer on only a 6!!!



Death or Glory attacks inflict one automatic hit from any weapon carried by the model, (I.e. close combat weapon, grenade or missile weapon).
No matter what is used it inflicts one single automatic hit.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 21:33   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sandy Eggo
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

you might wana re-check that. I dont have the book handy, but I remember that being the case that changed since 3rd ed.
__________________
Though I walk through the valley of the swarms of the clueless, I shall fear no idiocy, for the M-STAR flagged them 12 seconds ago, and the JDAMS are already freefalling.
Calaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 21:42   #9 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

"whatever form it takes it automatically hits..."

and you were saying?

now onto the Tank Shock issue i always thought that you couldnt fire after you did a tank shock, oh well if someone could point me out to where it says that the tank may fire it would be well appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2006, 22:29   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York city
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to DireStrike Send a message via MSN to DireStrike
Default Re: Quick question that can save lives!

It does not say anywhere that the tank cannot fire. Tank shock is no different than moving, and we can move and fire.
DireStrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question quick answer, rapid fire plasma? Ekiel Space Marines 5 31 Oct 2009 20:45
Cover save question Fate13 Tau 9 20 Sep 2009 01:24
Quick Cover Save Question StaffordGames Tau 2 24 Jan 2009 17:50
Invul save question trex238 Space Marines 8 15 May 2008 10:22
Dummy armour save question... Bladesuit General 40K 11 28 Apr 2007 03:06