Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Commander using Shadowsun: am I allowed?
Closed Thread
Old 16 May 2006, 09:24   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Basildon, Essex, England
Posts: 407
Send a message via MSN to pettsy
Default Commander using Shadowsun: am I allowed?

Basically i was wondering can i use the Shadowsun model as a Tau Commander?

I ask because i want to eventually add Shadowsun to my 1,500pt Tau army, however i dont want to buy a commander and then have to buy Shadowsun as well. Would you have a problem with me using Shadowsun as a commander?
__________________
My Imperial Guard Blog (Now with the correct spelling ):



"It matters not what form my enemy takes, I will slay him all the same" - Grand Master Daedelus

We are ever-living, our spirit is immortal, and long after the last of our people crumbles to dust we shall still live on. For we are the Asur and for as long as there is light then we will shine!
pettsy is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 09:26   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Uk
Posts: 628
Send a message via MSN to Rechar Send a message via Yahoo to Rechar
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

As long as you make your opponent aware, there shouldn't be any trouble.
__________________
Wins: 46
Losses: 6
Draws: 4

"Just as the chaotic nature of these aliens is anathema to we of the Empire, so it is that the Tau'va is abhorent to them. They have no capacity to accept such glory and should be kulled so the Empires efforts may be spent in a more productive manner." attributed - Shas'O Rech'Ar
Rechar is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 09:28   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 405
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

She's a HQ choice, so you can bring her without any further ado. (Empires, p46)
__________________
Our enemies know us as The Suburbanshees.
First, you hear the wail of redlined thrusters,
then you die.

Play with fire - get burned ... play with concrete - get cured
Ewain is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 09:52   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 405
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pettsy
I ask because i want to eventually add Shadowsun to my 1,500pt Tau army, however i dont want to buy a commander and then have to buy Shadowsun as well.
If I understand your question correct, your army is at 1500 points now -and you can add her as Shadowsun.
Otherwise, go with Albtraum and use her as proxy.
__________________
Our enemies know us as The Suburbanshees.
First, you hear the wail of redlined thrusters,
then you die.

Play with fire - get burned ... play with concrete - get cured
Ewain is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 11:24   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Home
Posts: 1,492
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

I think the real question was whether he still has to have a commander in a crisis suit to satisfy that 1+ requirement if he takes shadowsun.
__________________
Due to an error in translation, the isolated colony of T'ves'kal'dai mistakenly worshiped the greater goose for seven generations. Reeducation efforts continue.

Quote:
"Cheese for the cheese god! More wins for Pwn!"
march10k is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 11:44   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 405
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

Since Shadowsun count as a HQ choice, and commanders come as 1+, she should be able to fill the commander slot.

(Unless, of course special characters can't be commanders. Haven't been able to find that rule yet.)
__________________
Our enemies know us as The Suburbanshees.
First, you hear the wail of redlined thrusters,
then you die.

Play with fire - get burned ... play with concrete - get cured
Ewain is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 11:45   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

I believe it specifically states that O'Shaserra counts as the 1+ Commander for the army.

However, it does not state this for O'Shovah.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 11:56   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COLUMBUS, OHIO
Posts: 178
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

It does say that she counts as 1+ HQ in her description.
__________________
"DAMN THE POINT EFFECIENCY, I ALWAYS MOUNT 3 WEAPONS!!!"
biggdawggnt is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 12:33   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Basildon, Essex, England
Posts: 407
Send a message via MSN to pettsy
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

ok i think i should have worded my question better...

say im using a 1,000pt army, would u let me use the Shadowsun model as a normal commander?
__________________
My Imperial Guard Blog (Now with the correct spelling ):



"It matters not what form my enemy takes, I will slay him all the same" - Grand Master Daedelus

We are ever-living, our spirit is immortal, and long after the last of our people crumbles to dust we shall still live on. For we are the Asur and for as long as there is light then we will shine!
pettsy is offline  
Old 16 May 2006, 12:37   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Commander using Shadowsun, am i allowed?

Ah, I suspected that was what you meant...

Yes I would, so long as it is clear what you're equipped with.

Personally, I'd recommend the following:

TL Fusion Blaster.
Command & Control Node (the Command Drone).
HW Drone Controller with two Shield Drones.

There... O'Shaserra, minus special character status...
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why does nobody use commander shadowsun? hyperhopper Tau 68 17 Jul 2009 23:36
Commander Shadowsun knightperson Tau 1 15 Dec 2007 22:14
Using Commander Shadowsun (Does anybody use her?) daniel.wilson Tau 13 27 Jul 2007 02:11
Commander ShadowSun Shaso Rael Tau 13 01 Aug 2006 09:35
Commander Shadowsun hunt224 Tau 35 09 Mar 2006 08:33