Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

FoF does it give a cover save?
Closed Thread
Old 14 May 2006, 19:06   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default FoF does it give a cover save?

I saw a Tau player claiming a 4+ cover save from the FoF tactic. He quoted that a model inside/on top of or up against a vehicle gains a 4+ cover save. He went on to argue that since the Devil Fish was in front of the fire warriors and the fire warriors were placed that they were either touching or within 1" of the devil fish he was entitled to a 4+ cover save as his models were up against the vehicle, looking underneath it, lying prone etc and that the fish was hovering only a few feet off the ground.

I don't think this was right but by the BBB no one could really argue against him as looking around the corner could imply laying down and looking under the vehicle.

What do you guys think? If it is true then that just makes the FoF even more deadly and Eldar could also do it
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 19:08   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 467
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

Well then it works the other way too. His opponent could get a 4+ cover save from it if they leaned up against it or whatever.

I've never heard of that, but sweet!
__________________
[size=15pt]AvP RolePlaying Site[/size]



Tau:
Wins: 8 Losses: 1 Ties: 0
Big Ben is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 19:10   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 959
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

There is no cover save from the FoF (unless of course the 'Fish lands). The skimmer is assumed to hover high enough to shoot underneath, but doesn't impede line of sight.
__________________
Peace through Superior Firepower! =^.^=
KCKitsune is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 19:24   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCKitsune
There is no cover save from the FoF (unless of course the 'Fish lands). The skimmer is assumed to hover high enough to shoot underneath, but doesn't impede line of sight.
LOS has nothing to do with the cover save. It is the proximity of the vehicle to the soldier that gives the 4+ according to the BBB. Shots go high, shots go low and having a few tonnes of steel next to you will deflect shots.

The BBB says that any model up next to, on top of or inside a vehicle gains a 4+ cover save, and unless a skimmer isn't a vehicle then the rules should apply. I don't agree with it personally but we couldn't find a way to say he was wrong...besides it helps my eldar doing the SoF
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 19:33   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,232
Send a message via MSN to Hadhfang
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

AFAIK Vehicles only give a cover save when they are wrecked, otherwise they block line of site, Skimmers don't block line of site as they hover out the way unless they land (and if they fdo that you can't FoF) so no you don't get a cover save
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaifrog
Hooray! We've corrupted Hadhfang ;D
Hadhfang is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 19:35   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,401
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hadhfang
AFAIK Vehicles only give a cover save when they are wrecked, otherwise they block line of site, Skimmers don't block line of site as they hover out the way unless they land (and if they fdo that you can't FoF) so no you don't get a cover save
Ah i see it now, thanks, will point that out to the guy next week. The looking around it only applies when wrecked. Its hard to find these things when you are playing cause you just want to play not spend 30 mins looking for some rule

However, a Tau DF can drop its warriors off in front of a piece of lvl 1 terrain and gain a cover save from anyone whos LOS crosses over that terrain which makes them even harder to kill. Of course your opponent can gain the same benefit but with AP 5 weapons their armor save will probably be better, however it would give the Tau a 5+-6+ cover save against anything AP4 and since you can't assault them they have more staying power..
Go Guard Or Go Home is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 21:35   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,891
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

The 4+ cover save is illegal not to mention cheap. If the FW FoF near real cover than they will get a cover save.
__________________


Crisis 541 is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 21:47   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

If it gives a 4+ cover save, that means you can charge through it...

Hey, they want to cheat, cheat back twice as hard!
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 22:50   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 297
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
If it gives a 4+ cover save, that means you can charge through it...

Hey, they want to cheat, cheat back twice as hard!
Nothing beats using the "if you get to do this I obviously can do this" argument in making people realize how idiotic their rules interpretations are.
Daggoth is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 23:12   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: FoF does it give a cover save?

Officailly, the DF can't give a 4+ save unless it has the landing gear upgrade.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
life after the cover save needs your help! less_than_ed Artwork 0 23 Jun 2010 20:49
+1 cover save? Jormungard Necrons 21 30 Nov 2007 19:05
'What cover save do Nintendo cartriges give?' [500pts vs. Marines] AuinMyrrath Craftworld Eldar 3 05 Dec 2006 00:41
Cover Save from rivers. Steel Skeleton General 40K 6 03 Sep 2006 19:29
Markerlight=no cover save??? vsurma Tau 3 19 Nov 2005 19:26