Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tau Skimmers
Closed Thread
Old 14 May 2006, 05:26   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Idaho
Posts: 762
Send a message via MSN to freaky_beef
Default Tau Skimmers

My friend dosent belive me about the Fish of Fury tactic. He syas that people can assullt under Skimmers. Can someone plese tell me where I can find in the Rulebook where it says that Skimmers block movement and assult but dont block line of sight. Thanks!
freaky_beef is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 05:35   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 990
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

You can't assault under the skimmer. Whether because of the engines under there, or the antigravs frying, or simply because 2-3 feet might let you FIRE under it if you kneel down, but you certainly can't charge. Besides, nothing would stop that 30 ton war-engine from reversing thrusters and squashing your charging army.

The entire REASON the FoF tactic exists is that you can fire under a skimmer but can't run under it (or within 1 inch, which is why its not worthless at protecting from assault)
Nova is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 05:51   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

Models can't move within 1 inch of an enemy model in the movement phase (pg 15 in the big grey book)

He can't go within 1 inch* of an enemy unit he's not charging in the assault phase (pg 37 in the big grey book)

EDIT: skimmers only block line of sight if they are immobilized or wrecked (pg 20 in the big grey book)
Dunakhu is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 05:54   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunakhu
Models can't move within 1 inch of an enemy model in the movement phase (pg 15 in the big grey book)

He can't go within 1 inch of an enemy unit he's not charging in the assault phase (pg 37 in the big grey book)
It also states on 37 that you may not move through friendly or enemy models, even in a unit you are charging.
khanaris is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 05:58   #5 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

i do believe he just simply wants a page number for this, no explanations on it. hey come to think of it i cant find that page at all. someone please solve this dilemna :-\
 
Old 14 May 2006, 06:00   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 467
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

The dilemma probably is you don't have that page...it's possible.

Our rule book is upside down and backwards.
__________________
[size=15pt]AvP RolePlaying Site[/size]



Tau:
Wins: 8 Losses: 1 Ties: 0
Big Ben is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 06:02   #7 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

possibly, with all of the stuff i find out from Tau online i really hope that im missing a lot of pages. that or maybe its the FAQ (if they have one out yet)
 
Old 14 May 2006, 06:07   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

Dunakhu answered this already. You don't have a page 15 or 37?
khanaris is offline  
Old 14 May 2006, 06:20   #9 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

Quote:
Originally Posted by freaky_beef
Can someone plese tell me where I can find in the Rulebook where it says that Skimmers block movement and assult but dont block line of sight. Thanks!
that is the problem im reffering to actually. on page 15 it describes how a unit cant move through the space occupied by another unit. i get that, but where does it say that skiummers dont block LOS? i guess that is the bigger question now.
 
Old 14 May 2006, 06:27   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Tau Skimmers

Page 20 under Line of Sight it says this under the first bullet:

"Skimmer vehicles only block line of sight if immobilised or wrecked."

There is your answer.
__________________



Vash113 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
regarding skimmers Mpori Ebatoi Craftworld Eldar 14 17 Jan 2008 08:44
Skimmers & LOS Farseer_Emlyn General 40K 8 24 Apr 2007 03:25
Skimmers EricBasser General 40K 5 13 Nov 2006 00:14
Do Skimmers block LOS to other skimmers/large targets? Olannon Tau 5 11 Oct 2006 02:59
Question on LOS to Skimmers? My Skimmers are dying to Know! Wolf-Tau Tau 32 14 Apr 2005 00:39