Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   Tau (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/)
-   -   Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight) (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/19480-fresh-recruit-question-farsight.html)

wakopanda 12 Apr 2006 19:27

Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
wahey, i just got myself a copy of the spangly new tau empires codex today. models shall soon follow.

but, right off the bat i have a question, regarding O'Shovah and playing a cadre from the farsight enclaves.

now its reasonable to assume that farsight cant be at the head at each and every one of his cadres at the same time. so, the obvious answer is to use a shas'el, right?

okay, heres the cruch. would you allow me to play using the farsight enclave rules, without having the man himself there? this is for games under 1500 pts, and tournies where special characters arent allowed.

so, i have to follow the unit restrictions, and i gain the the rules about bonding and preffered enemy. but instead of O'Shovah, i have a Shas'El doing the buisness as HQ.

C/-Rt3r 12 Apr 2006 19:54

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
Me personally would allow you to do it in a friendly game but it is absolutely illegal in a tourny...farsight is the one who brings those rules and without him they are not there.

Vash113 12 Apr 2006 19:59

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
Actually it could be said that this is not the case. That you could actually use the rules without Farsight present. Because while they are in his profile they are not locked to his personage as some other rules in existence. Ive seen this discussed in a couple other threads and from a close look it would seem that you could take the breakaway faction and blood brothers rules without actually using Farsight since he is now restricted to 1500 point games and up.

Would be something to check with your local GW about to get their official ruling but I dont see why you couldnt.

wakopanda 12 Apr 2006 21:37

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
well thats what i was thinking... i mean when you consider farsight can only be used in 1500 or above... then a 1000 pt force could have 3 hammerheads, while a 2000 only gets one! not making much sense to me...

as for tourney legal... well if i was playing 1500 id bring farsight anyway... and if it was 1000, then id have to check it out with the organisers. thanks for the replies. hope this doesnt start a huge rules debate...

zelda_legend 12 Apr 2006 21:52

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
One last thing...if you dont use farsight then just be shure to give your commander a farsight insignia somewhere, then put a picture in this thread.

wakopanda 12 Apr 2006 22:02

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zelda_legend
One last thing...if you dont use farsight then just be shure to give your commander a farsight insignia somewhere, then put a picture in this thread.

oh no, i intend to get both farsight and a commander. its just for games under 1500. besides, you only get all the special issue toys with the commander sprue.

as for the insigna... is that the symbol on farsights sheild generator? the one that looks kind of like a sept symbol. if so, then yeah, ill put one on the regular commander too.

Rechar 12 Apr 2006 22:29

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
Theres no requirement to take Farsight to be considered a farsight enclave army, just as you don't need to take Aun'Va/Shadowsun to be considered mainstream Tau.

You would just be a cadre operating for the enclave, when you had O'shovah, you would be his Cadre.

Vash113 12 Apr 2006 22:32

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rechar
Theres no requirement to take Farsight to be considered a farsight enclave army, just as you don't need to take Aun'Va/Shadowsun to be considered mainstream Tau.

You would just be a cadre operating for the enclave, when you had O'shovah, you would be his Cadre.

I think you missed the point. A farsight enclave army has special rules assosiated with it and those rules used to be tied to Farsight. Now it would seem that they arent so tied the question is whether you can field a farsight enclave army without farsight. There is a great difference between just calling it a breakaway faction army and actually using all the special rules.

Rechar 12 Apr 2006 22:47

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
Its not just a breakaway faction anymore, O'shovah has fortress after fortress spanning planets, only a retard would think O'shovah himself would lead every single mission from the Enclaves.

He undoubtably has inferiors who perform the role of Shas'O in numerous Cadres...those are what you can take. O'shovah is mearly a special character just like Aun'Va.

Unless you're arguing that all the followers of Farsight only gain the prefered enemy orks rule when farsight is there with them? Not like they have been fighting orks themselves for years is it? Not like they have formed deep ties with their brothers allowing free bonding eh?

lonely tau 12 Apr 2006 22:56

Re: Fresh recruit... with a question. (farsight)
 
this raises quite a good point that should be explained. although it isnt in the rules everyon is saying that they should have the special farsight rules even if he is not in the army. i would have to agree with this on all accounts and i would ask the opponents permission first and maybe add 10 or so points to the commander just because.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366