Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Markerlights mounted on weapons.
Closed Thread
Old 04 Apr 2006, 19:32   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Default Markerlights mounted on weapons.

I noticed some unit options let you have a Markerlight on your gun. Can you fire both or just one or the other?

Will a Multitracker allow a model that has a gun with a marker light to shoot both?


Also, what's your recomendation for the amount of MarkerLights in an 1850 list? I'm looking for a good realistic number and I plan on using Pathfinders as well.

The tricky part is using them correctly. If you move you can't fire them which really limits Marker Drones attached to Battlesuits and Stealth Suits....
Tanglethorn is offline  
Old 04 Apr 2006, 19:37   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 483
Send a message via MSN to Delvaurius
Default Re: MarkerLights on weapons questions

The only person that has markerlights on the gun straight off is a pathfinder, however it can be given to fire warriors and stealth.

pathfinders can fire one or the other unless the sha'ui takes a hardwired Multi tracker. This also applies for the other 2 options.

With the new codex networked markerlights are used on the sky ray and snipers, plus the drones. However things with networked markerlights have no other weapons to fire (apart from sky ray but that fires as a vehicle.)
__________________
De'lvaurius

-The Bleak Assassin-
Delvaurius is offline  
Old 04 Apr 2006, 22:46   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 83
Default Re: MarkerLights on weapons questions

According to the rules for the multitracker, the model may fire "...two battlesuit weapon systems in the same turn..." so a literal reading of the rules leads to the conclusion that multitrackers on non-battlesuit models are totally useless.
Focus is offline  
Old 04 Apr 2006, 23:32   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 671
Send a message via AIM to Rogue_FireWarrior
Default Re: MarkerLights on weapons questions

But isn't the fire warrior armor a type of battlesuit armor fluffwise? :-\
__________________

wins:21 Draws:9 Losses:8
[/img]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn (working on campaign)
They may be laughing at your red paint jobs or bat-eared grots when you deploy, but after loosing a few units to "da green horde" they'll learn to take your sonz of funguz seriously.
Rogue_FireWarrior is offline  
Old 04 Apr 2006, 23:41   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Posts: 284
Default Re: MarkerLights on weapons questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focus
According to the rules for the multitracker, the model may fire "...two battlesuit weapon systems in the same turn..." so a literal reading of the rules leads to the conclusion that multitrackers on non-battlesuit models are totally useless.
True. However, that text does come from the Battlesuit Armory section of the codex. Yet hard-wired multi-trackers are also an option in the Infantry Armory section. Part of the description says, "Hard-wired systems allow Tau without a battlesuit to benefit from a support system normally only mounted on a battlesuit." You can therefore remove the word "battlesuit" from your above quote in order to apply it to infantry.

According to this reading of the rules (and since no infantry model comes with the option of having two weapons other than a markerlight), a pathfinder, firewarrior or ethereal armed with a weapon, a markerlight, and a hard-wired multi-tracker could fire both the weapon and the markerlight in the same turn.
__________________
--

http://RyanCannon.com
RCanine is offline  
Old 05 Apr 2006, 01:09   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: MarkerLights on weapons questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCanine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Focus
According to the rules for the multitracker, the model may fire "...two battlesuit weapon systems in the same turn..." so a literal reading of the rules leads to the conclusion that multitrackers on non-battlesuit models are totally useless.
True. However, that text does come from the Battlesuit Armory section of the codex. Yet hard-wired multi-trackers are also an option in the Infantry Armory section. Part of the description says, "Hard-wired systems allow Tau without a battlesuit to benefit from a support system normally only mounted on a battlesuit." You can therefore remove the word "battlesuit" from your above quote in order to apply it to infantry.

According to this reading of the rules (and since no infantry model comes with the option of having two weapons other than a markerlight), a pathfinder, firewarrior or ethereal armed with a weapon, a markerlight, and a hard-wired multi-tracker could fire both the weapon and the markerlight in the same turn.
I agree with this interpretation. Because the new codex splits up the wargear section into a list for Battlesuits and a list for regular infantry, it would not make sense for the Multi-tracker to appear in both if normal infantry had no use for it.
khanaris is offline  
Old 05 Apr 2006, 01:12   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3,432
Send a message via AIM to MechTau
Default Re: Markerights mounted on weapons.

I reccomend one unit of Pathfinders for 1,850 points. Maybe sprinkle some more in... but that ought to have you done.
__________________
Watch me rebuild my army! - Now with pics of my new scheme!

Open invitation to all: Send me a pm, and I'll be have a look at your army list.
[url=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=11198.0]Crisis Suit Theory, Army Composition, and why Fireknives suck - You've got to read this classic by T0nka
MechTau is offline  
Old 05 Apr 2006, 01:42   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Markerights mounted on weapons.

However, under the HW MT rules (well, at least in the old codex, i haven't gotten the new one yet), it states "Fire Warriors do not benifit from this upgrade as they cannot carry two weapons." Thus, this leads to the conclusion that a markerlight replaces the pulse riffle/carbine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline  
Old 05 Apr 2006, 01:46   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Markerights mounted on weapons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Impulse
However, under the HW MT rules (well, at least in the old codex, i haven't gotten the new one yet), it states "Fire Warriors do not benifit from this upgrade as they cannot carry two weapons." Thus, this leads to the conclusion that a markerlight replaces the pulse riffle/carbine.
This rule is not in the new Codex.
khanaris is offline  
Old 05 Apr 2006, 02:03   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 443
Default Re: Markerights mounted on weapons.

Correct. The new codex usage of the HW multitracker lets you fire both a pulse whatever and a markerlight in the same turn.
Savient is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hull mounted or turret mounted? Super heavy gunner Imperial Guard 2 01 Jun 2010 20:24
Pathfinder markerlights vs Stealth suit markerlights, the cost conundrum juraigamer Tau 20 01 Oct 2009 18:54
Markerlights+TL weapons? monocleman Tau 2 11 Dec 2008 01:31
Heavy weapons (Markerlights) and movement question Wile E Tau 25 06 Apr 2006 04:11
Thorax Mounted Weapons Hive Lord Tyranids 32 30 Jun 2005 19:28