Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Screwed with pulse carbines
Closed Thread
Old 04 Apr 2006, 02:07   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Screwed with pulse carbines

OK I'm new at this:

Sorry for bothering everyone but, am i absolutely doomed with my firewarriors? I gave 6 of them pulse carbines (in spite of the new rules) and i figured out that they really suck. Is there any tactics i could use carbines to my advantage?

Ty for your time,

The Traveler 8)

#thetraveler
Old 04 Apr 2006, 02:11   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Default Re: Screwed with pulse carbines

Under the new rules, Carbines can be quite powerful - forcing multiple negative modifiers on pinning checks.

Imagine this...
Marine Player: 'Haha... you're making me take a pinning check, I've got a Force Commander, so I'm testing at Leadership...'
You: '6.'
Marine Player: 'But... but...'
You: 'Four Markerlights.'
Marine Player: '<bleeped>.'
Old 04 Apr 2006, 02:14   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La

Yup. Pin a non fearless squad all you wish now with the ultimate anti infantry tool now. Pulse carbines plus an average of 4 hits from a pathfinder squad.
Old 04 Apr 2006, 02:15   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

It really is possible to remove the carbine arms and replace them with pulse rifle arms...though if the models are already painted, that would be a problem. Hmmm, perhaps convert the carbine firewarriors to pathfinders (remove shoulder pad and backpack...though again if they are already painted :-\). Or maybe make 6 more carbine firewarriors and have a full squad able to pin; but if you're like me and have had little luck with carbines then either change them back to rifles, make them pathfinders, or try a full carbine squad.

Thus is my two cents...
Old 04 Apr 2006, 02:19   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La

You could also take 2 markerlight drones with a full up carbine squad, just for a self sufficient pinning unit. Be great for a static tau army to prevent an assaulty army from riding into your troops.