Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Beating mechanized Eldar
Closed Thread
Old 03 Apr 2006, 17:11   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Beating mechanized Eldar

Hi, this is my first post here on Tau online. I'm pretty new to the game, just started up a tau army but i'm mostly playing against real veterans who have very well built up armies. Anyways I played against my friend's eldar for the first time last night and got utterly smashed. His wave serpents totally destroyed my hammerhead and d-fish even though i shot first (but missed). Anyways, looking at the stats it seems like one of these wave serpents is more than a match for a hammerhead when equipped with TL bright lances, but it also costs 40 pts less, carries a squad of infantry, and doesn't take up a FOC slot! I guess if you had a lot of str 8 shots for taking out tanks the hammerhead would be more durable, but as tau I rely on a few str 10 shots (that get reduced down to 8). Anyways, I guess what I really want to know is what would be a good strategy for taking on a mechanized eldar force which consists mostly of wraithguard, banshees, and striking scorpions in wave serpents?
Old 03 Apr 2006, 17:29   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Beating mechanized Eldar

Heya Dunakhu,

Welcome to the boards! Mechanized Eldar can be a real pain for a lot of armies to counter, but Tau can actually do it rather easily.

Your secret weapon: Missile Pods

Lots and lots of missile pods will rip right through Eldar skimmers. The reason railguns and lascannons and the like don't do enough damage, is because they just don't generate enough rolls on the "glance damage chart" in order to produce some meaningful damage. Missile pods on the other hand, are a weapon we have that is mobile and that can produce lots of hits which leads to lots of rolls on the damage charts and finally give us the damage results we need to put those skimmers down.