Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Markerlights: Loophole?
Closed Thread
Old 02 Apr 2006, 17:07   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Default Markerlights: Loophole?

Say you get two hits on a unit from a Pathfinder unit. A Firewarrior unit decides to shoot at the target. Since the transport is part of the unit, does it also get a bonus for the expendature of the tokens, raising the BS to 5,

Also, say a lone Devilfish uses two markerlights tokens and expends both, do the drones also get the upgrade, since they are the wargear of the Devilfish?

I was just thinking about this stuff... this would be even more of a boost to the Fish of Fire!
__________________
"I wish my grass was emo, then it would cut itself"
Kickback79 is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 17:11   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New England - United States of America
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

The transport I believe is another unit entirely, except it is used for the Fire Warriors. And since the drones use their own BS and the Targetting Array does not work on them, so I believe not.
__________________

A fantastic sig by Kais.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev_Enge(spc)
And there we have it. Gentlemen, we give you Black Behemoth, future Supreme Overlord of Earth.
Black Behemoth is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 17:15   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

No, unfortunately. Transports and the units they carry are treated as seperate units after army selection and deployment. This is discussed in the main rulebook. For example, a transport does not have to fire at the same target as the unit it carries. A transport is also a seperate target for enemy units, and forces a priority check to shoot at the unit it dropped off if they are behind it.. Because of this, the transport would not benefit from markerlight hits used by the Fire Warriors.

The other example is harder. I am not sure if a BS upgrade used by the Devilfish's Burst Cannon would also apply to the drones. It definitely would not if they had already detached, but I think it probably would if they were still on board. You would be pushing the definition of "unit" in this case. The drones do have to fire at the same target as the Devilfish, and do not count as a seperate target when being fired at, so I am guessing they would probably get to use the same markerlight hits as the Devilfish.
khanaris is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 18:36   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,794
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

Edit: Okay, I just realized the markerlight rules have changed... (my next post explains my opinion).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
Falstead: I don't think you can ever justify a T5 goat in a regular 40k game
Lord_Veqq has joined TauOnline.
Guest6363: SEMENATION COMPLETE
Lord_Veqq has left TauOnline.
ToastMaster is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 18:47   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 443
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToastMaster
It does not matter, your whole squad cannot shoot at BS 4 with only two markerlights, only two models can, not a whole unit.
Actually, the whole unit can. Better check the ML rules again Tastmaster, it says you get +1 bs for the UNIT per counter spent.
Savient is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 18:47   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,510
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToastMaster
It does not matter, your whole squad cannot shoot at BS 4 with only two markerlights, only two models can, not a whole unit.
I guess you donīt have the new codex yet.
LordDemon is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 19:01   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,794
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordDemon
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToastMaster
It does not matter, your whole squad cannot shoot at BS 4 with only two markerlights, only two models can, not a whole unit.
I guess you donīt have the new codex yet.
Yeah, I do. I just realized it has changed. I don't think the devilfish counts as being in the unit, as one of the options is for a vehicle to shoot as if it was BS 5. So I think it's only the pathfinders.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
Falstead: I don't think you can ever justify a T5 goat in a regular 40k game
Lord_Veqq has joined TauOnline.
Guest6363: SEMENATION COMPLETE
Lord_Veqq has left TauOnline.
ToastMaster is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 20:57   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToastMaster

Yeah, I do. I just realized it has changed. I don't think the devilfish counts as being in the unit, as one of the options is for a vehicle to shoot as if it was BS 5.
This is only for Seeker Missiles. Vehicles use the regular Markerlight rules for their other weapons (i.e. +1 BS per ML).
khanaris is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 20:59   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wheat Ridge CO
Posts: 636
Send a message via AIM to kin7777 Send a message via MSN to kin7777
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

Rules wise it makes sense, but fluff wish not quite there
__________________
[url=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=43155.0]

PUNK'S NOT DEAD
Think, it's not illegal yet.
kin7777 is offline  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 21:02   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,794
Default Re: Markerlights: Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaris
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToastMaster

Yeah, I do. I just realized it has changed. I don't think the devilfish counts as being in the unit, as one of the options is for a vehicle to shoot as if it was BS 5.
This is only for Seeker Missiles. Vehicles use the regular Markerlight rules for their other weapons (i.e. +1 BS per ML).
Yeah. It's changed for good, and for bad. Now a whole unit can shoot at BS 4, (firewarriors), which is a good thing, but if you want to hit someone with one gun, (railgun perhaps?), then unless you attached a targetting array to the broadside, it only hits on a 3+ instead of a 2+, like it used to. All around this is a better change then a bad one, as most units will hit on a 2+ with the markerlights anyway, (crisis suits with targetting arrays), and the ones who won't, (firewarriors, Kroot, and Vespids), may not hit on 2+, but now the whole unit hits on a 3+. and a broadside's railgun is twin-linked, so pretty much the same thing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
Falstead: I don't think you can ever justify a T5 goat in a regular 40k game
Lord_Veqq has joined TauOnline.
Guest6363: SEMENATION COMPLETE
Lord_Veqq has left TauOnline.
ToastMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pathfinder markerlights vs Stealth suit markerlights, the cost conundrum juraigamer Tau 20 01 Oct 2009 18:54
Is this a loophole, but... fattyboy5 Minor Races 13 27 Sep 2008 06:57
loophole Autarch Uthlanar Craftworld Eldar 22 01 Dec 2006 19:57
A possible loophole RealMenUseCarbines Tau 8 31 Aug 2006 06:34
Catachan Loophole? Magnum_357 Imperial Guard 15 31 Jan 2006 03:02