Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?
Closed Thread
Old 07 Mar 2006, 23:15   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two differant targets can you still assault. I was wondering if I had a unit that for example shot at 3 differant units due to target lock would I still be able to assault or not. I never ran into this problem till I decided to try to make my O'Shova HQ with 5 bodyguards.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline  
Old 07 Mar 2006, 23:17   #2 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two differant targets....?

if your shots had a majority then you would probably have to assualt that target but that is as close as i can get
 
Old 07 Mar 2006, 23:22   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 137
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two differant targets....?

Check the rules on firing assault weapons. Off the top of my head, I would say you would probably have to assault both targets. Possible, but rarely feasible.

EDIT: having consulted the rulebook my opinion has changed
__________________
Central London Wargames Club http://www.clwc.org.uk

2005 record:
SVA: winning Faction
London Conflict: 3rd Place
GT Heat 2: 4th Place
Warfare 2005: tournament winner
torgoch is offline  
Old 07 Mar 2006, 23:48   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

It says in the rules that you have to assault the unit that you shot at in the shooting phase. Clear enough, if your using target locks to shoot multiple units, you must charge One of the units that you shot. This fulfills charging the unit you shot, just because you shot more than one, doesn't really have any further effect untill a new errata is published

* Pretty cool, giving you a chance to charge which ever unit you will actually make it to, a nice added bonus
gwguy is offline  
Old 08 Mar 2006, 02:10   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 73
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

If you look at the exact wording of both the codex and the rule book, the Target locks let you target a different unit then the rest of their squad, while the the rule book says that a shooting unit must charge the unit they shot at. Therefore, the squad must select a target and then select different units being shot at by the guys with target locks, but you could only charge the unit you initially selected to be shot at by your squad... Wow, this is badly worded. Here's an example. 2 suits: suit 1 has TL burst cannons, Target lock. Suit 2 has fusion blaster, missile pod, and multi tracker. Suit 1 shoots some guardsmen, while suit 2 shoots a tank, the Crisis squad MUST charge the tank because that is the unit the squad targetted (since suit 2 does not have a Target lock). Even if you added a 3rd suit armed the same as suit 1, who shoots at the same target as suit 1, you'd STILL have to charge the tank, because that's the unit your squad is targetting.
molath is offline  
Old 08 Mar 2006, 02:29   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York city
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to DireStrike Send a message via MSN to DireStrike
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

Moloch is right. Basically any models without a target lock count as being "the squad" when determining what the squad has fired at. If they all have target locks, you can do whatever you want.

It's vexing to know there's a further limitation to Tau combat capabilities, albeit a very unlikely one. It's just another reason to take squads armed the same, or to just take monats!
DireStrike is offline  
Old 08 Mar 2006, 03:17   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

So basically since O'Shova doesn't have target lock any unit he shots at I'll have to assault that unit. So I'll shoot with him last simple solution.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline  
Old 08 Mar 2006, 07:57   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 197
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

Hi,

I think the best option is to give the target locks to the suits with tank busting weapons in mixed role units, then you can still assault the infrantry.

Rathstar
__________________
____________________________________

View my 40k Blog at: http://rathstarramblings.blogspot.com/
Rathstar is offline  
Old 08 Mar 2006, 09:25   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicop76
So basically since O'Shova doesn't have target lock any unit he shots at I'll have to assault that unit. So I'll shoot with him last simple solution.
Actually he does have a target lock.
Zustiur is offline  
Old 08 Mar 2006, 13:09   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 2,264
Default Re: Question? If you use target lock to shoot at two different targets....?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zustiur
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicop76
So basically since O'Shova doesn't have target lock any unit he shots at I'll have to assault that unit. So I'll shoot with him last simple solution.
Actually he does have a target lock.
Are you sure? I don't remember seeing a target lock in his profile. If that's the case, with everyone having target lock. You could argue the fact who would be the original unit.
__________________
Beware of O'Shova and his furry!
chicop76 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Target lock question hardcore Tau 5 05 Oct 2009 14:50
Changeling vs. Tau Target Lock Question chicop76 Forces of Chaos 3 25 Aug 2008 22:45
Target Lock question gerrylum Tau 7 06 Oct 2007 13:38
Target Lock question. Yourand Tau 3 08 Apr 2007 16:55
Question about Target Lock fuby Tau 2 14 Mar 2006 13:04