Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

How to fight Eldar.
Closed Thread
Old 28 Feb 2006, 22:49   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Send a message via MSN to Shepherd
Default How to fight Eldar.

hi i am still new to 40K and my first major battle is against a eldar army baset on swooping hawks any advice/help would be great
Old 01 Mar 2006, 00:08   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Re: how to fight eldar

The swooping hawks are as easy to kill as firewarriors. They cannot Jump-Shoot-Jump (JSJ) so if they can shoot you, you can shoot them. Pulse rifles, burst cannon, missile pods and railgun submunitions are your best bet for dealing with them.

Be warned though, their exarchs (squad leaders) can be vicious in close combat (CC). The basic hawks aren't CC oriented though so if you see a small unit heading straight at your lines send some fire their way.

The eldar in general will have more mobility than you so you need to find ways of dealing with this. My two methods would be a mobile section of crisis suits/hammerheads to respond to threats and deploying with mutually supporting elements. The latter meaning set up so if any one section comes under threat the rest of your army can lend a hand.
Target priority is key and top of my list is fast assaulty units, make sure these die first. Then decide what will hurt you most and eliminate it; sometimes this will be a slower assault unit, sometimes some heavy fire support. Just make a descision and stick to it.

Hardly infallible tactical advice I'll grant you, but I hope it helps.
Old 01 Mar 2006, 04:00   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Send a message via MSN to Shepherd

thanks mate i will put that info to good use

again thanks
Old 01 Mar 2006, 04:23   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior