Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tactica: Lone Wolves
Closed Thread
Old 25 Feb 2006, 07:09   #1 (permalink)
Ethereal

Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Tactica: Lone Wolves

First tactica I have ever written, I hop everyone likes it.

Now, the humble stealth team has been talked about before but I would like to provide some in - depth tactics on the uses I have found for them. Hopefully these ideas are still new, and will help all who utilise one of the best units at our disposal.

Lone Wolves:
The Stealth Teams in the codex are described as being the "Lone Wolves," ranging ahead of the Tau army to sow disruption in the enemy. This can be done on the table top as well, in various ways. I will detail a few of the most effective uses I have found for stealth teams, since I started playing.

Distraction:
This is the simplest way to use a Stealth team. You usually infiltrate them towards a area of the opponents army containing a threat to your army, e.g. a Devestator Squad with Lascannons (if you are mech) or Heavy Bolters (static).
You opponent will see the team coming and will either ignore them, allowing them to neutralise the target, saving your army, or attack them with some of his men, which will therefore have taken a unit out of battle, while they deal with the resilient Stealths. What? T3 troops are resilient? Well, they can be. Thanks to the Stealth armour, J-S-J, and judicious use of cover, it can be hard to neutralise them, therefore meaning anything sent to deal with them is not touching the rest of your army.

Assasinate: