Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   Tau (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/)
-   -   Rules clarification concerning the Piranha. (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/16348-rules-clarification-concerning-piranha.html)

Silverwing 22 Feb 2006 00:32

Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
I am sorry, but apparently I am very poor with reading comprehension.

The new codex says that when the drones disengage from the piranha, they form a single unit.

Does this mean, if there are 5 piranhas and all drones disengage from the vehicle, you have 5 squads of 2 drones or 1 squad of 10 drones?

Thanks,
sorry if this is a stupid question.

tauman5263 22 Feb 2006 00:54

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
the drones form 5 units of two. each vehicle has the gun drone upgrade in which states that the two gun drones may be detached from the vehicle and form a unit of their own.

and one more thing, there is no such thing as a stupid question, just stupid people ;D jk

khanaris 22 Feb 2006 01:00

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
It is actually a very good question. I think Tauman probably has the right idea. Otherwise, it could get a little confusing if you could suddenly "create" a scoring unit like that.

Silverwing 22 Feb 2006 01:08

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
I would want to do it that way, because with a bit of marker light support - suddenly those drones would become a huge threat :)

...and I wouldn't have to give up a fast support slot for a squad of drones, hehe.

Lanfeix 22 Feb 2006 02:46

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tauman5263
the drones form 5 units of two. each vehicle has the gun drone upgrade in which states that the two gun drones may be detached from the vehicle and form a unit of their own.

and one more thing, there is no such thing as a stupid question, just stupid people ;D jk

are you answering this from a new codex persective or the old one?

i think in new codex a squadron of 5 pirhanas would create a unit of 10 gun drones when they unload drones.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Khanaris
It is actually a very good question. I think Tauman probably has the right idea. Otherwise, it could get a little confusing if you could suddenly "create" a scoring unit like that.

not realy i when i played with a my tigger shark and it can create up to 3 scoring units! including the fact its no a scoring unit in it own right. shame the pirhana isnt that versitlie as the tigger but it is pretty cool

lonely tau 22 Feb 2006 02:52

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
maybe (havent heard yet) the drones arent scoring units when they disembark from the pihrana but i could be wrong

Fireblade 22 Feb 2006 02:57

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tauman5263
...each vehicle has the gun drone upgrade in which states that the two gun drones may be detached from the vehicle and form a unit of their own.

Which is exactly how I read the Gun Drone entry in the the new Tau Vehicle Armoury as well, and what makes the most sense.


I have seen a several folks making a number of bold claims online - that if one Piranha in a squad launches their Gun Drones then the entire squad must do the same, and then all of the launched Gun Drones must form a single unit.

If this were the case, then a full squad of Piranhas could form a Gun Drone squad that is larger than the actual Gun Drone squad in the codex, and could also then form two scoring units from a single unit (5-model Piranha squad and 10-model Gun Drone squad).

Nowhere in either the Piranha entry or the Vehicle Armoury Gun Drone entry of the new codex is there anything to support these claims.

Tiger Shark, Forge World model is it not?
(because it ain't in the new codex)
Some of the Forge World models have have had significant breaks from the standard 40K codex rules, and should probably not be used as an example as to how the rules as written in the codex were meant to be played.

Fireblade

Lanfeix 22 Feb 2006 03:05

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
i know my tigger shark isnt in the codex but its the nearest unit involving drones. thought i will wait and see i not bothered about rules clarity to much at the moment with out a codex in my hands i think any thing can be up in the air as un true.

Fireblade 22 Feb 2006 03:19

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lanfeix
... thought i will wait and see i not bothered about rules clarity to much at the moment with out a codex in my hands i think any thing can be up in the air as un true.

True enough! ;)

Though I am trying to base most of my comments using the actual wording as found in the new codex (of which I have easy access to).

I was just trying to quell a rumour that is begining to take on a life of its own, before folks get disapointed when they actually get a copy of the codex for themselves.


Fireblade

tauman5263 22 Feb 2006 03:23

Re: Rules clarification concerning the Piranha.
 
Quote:

If this were the case, then a full squad of Piranhas could form a Gun Drone squad that is larger than the actual Gun Drone squad in the codex, and could also then form two scoring units from a single unit (5-model Piranha squad and 10-model Gun Drone squad).
the drones are not scoring when they leave the vehicle. this is why i say they form 5 units of 2 drones. why would 10 drones be non-scoring.


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366