Warhammer 40K Forum

Some help needed.
Closed Thread
Old 16 Feb 2006, 15:39   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Send a message via MSN to cyberzomby
Default Some help needed.

Hi
Im going to a tourney where space marines are almost my only opponent.
Never played Tau, I started studying the existing codex, the rumours about the new one and some Tau tactics.
The things Im thinking about myself is :
Fire warriors can kill marines almost better than suits ( heard this from a friend )
Grab a team of suits with twin plasma en missiles and put them in cover, pop out and fire go back in.
Kroot as speed bump.
And than 2 teams of broadsides. 1 per team with shield drones ( from the new rules )
So is this correct ?

And for people who know a bit more about the rules ( and the new rules ) or got experience in killing marines
How do you go at it.
Do I advance a bit with my fire warriors ? Do I need markerlights, Can I use a team of suits, what equipment etc.
Basicaly I want tips for killing power armour ^^
Old 16 Feb 2006, 16:42   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Re: Some help needed.

Killing the three-up save is kind of the threshold of tournemant quality right now, so heres what I've found.

On average, 12 FWs with pulse rifles will kill ~1 a turn with their fire at maximum range. ( 4's to hit, 3's to wound, 3+ save)
On average, 24 FWs with pulse rifles will kill ~3 a turn with their fire at maximum range.
Basically you will kill ~1.5 Marines per 12 BS 3 pulse shots, on average, which means you're going to need something to crack marines.

Units
Fireknife Xv8- A very versatile choice, but it is on the expensive side of the line. It can take out the rhinos fairly easily, and still kill marines with the plasma rifle. Best used as Mon'at or in squads of 3.