Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online


Warhammer 40K Forum

Pathfinder question.
Closed Thread
Old 20 Jan 2006, 23:42   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: mom said not to give out my address to strangers
Posts: 3
Default Pathfinder question.

Im kinda new to warhammer 40k and i was wondering, do you have to have a devilfish to use pathfinders?
Always be ruthless, cause they will.

Never give a sucker an even break.

Fight (or play) like hell, then go home.

Always do your best, so that you don't get killed.

He who laughs last may just have the longest laugh.

My army stats
Tau-1650 points
BLUEBOY70C is offline  
Old 20 Jan 2006, 23:45   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tuvalu
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: I have a question?

I believe so....

-Da Boss
Warsmith Tyranus is offline  
Old 20 Jan 2006, 23:56   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 89
Default Re: I have a question?

Yes you do.
SparkeyG is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 00:20   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sandy Eggo
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: I have a question?

well, there IS one way out of it, but you'll have to talk your way into it. Trust me, its in the forgeworld rules, so its doable, WITH your opponents permission.

Claim an Orca Drop. An Orca is in Imperial Armor 3, and is the Tau version of the Thunderhawk, and delivers Firewarriors, Drones, XV suits AND pathfinders into combat zones. You really dont need the Orca itsself to do an Orca Drop, its an alternate deployment method.. basically during the aircraft segment of the first turn, you select a flight path across the board anywhere of your choosing. then, anywhere along that line, deploy units strung out along that line. This simulates the Tau running out the back ramp one at a time as the Orca makes a slow pass.

one caveat to this is that Pathfinders can deploy this way without a devilfish.... the Orca is considered their transport vehicle. You dont have to Orca drop your whole army, you could claim the Orca was the pathfinders transport, and that was all the Orca delivered...

So there! there is a way actually out there to get away without the devilfish! Good luck convincing anyone to go along with that, though!
Though I walk through the valley of the swarms of the clueless, I shall fear no idiocy, for the M-STAR flagged them 12 seconds ago, and the JDAMS are already freefalling.
Calaban is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 00:23   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Island Republic of FreedomLand
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: I have a question?

That's what the codex says. Blows, don't it? :
Just a fox, a whisper.

Originally Posted by Dra'Tuisich-Novae
D10s all the way. For honour! For glory! For non-repeating roll-probability percentages!
FOXX is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 00:26   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to LiinSivi Send a message via Yahoo to LiinSivi
Default Re: I have a question?

lol, I've never heard of that way of doing it. I think I'd just tough it out with the DF. After all, it is another vehicle the enemy has to take out. If your lucky he'll consentrate on it leaving your pathfinders to light him up.
Imperial troops who fought in the Damocles Crusade described the signature of the barely visible markerlight beams as the Valkyrie's Mark, because those it chose were soon numbered among the dead

"The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other poor bastard die for his" --George S. Patton
LiinSivi is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 00:39   #7 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 291
Send a message via MSN to Sephiroth_knight
Default Re: I have a question?

maybe in the new codex you have to have one but in the old one you don't need a DF for them
Sephiroth_knight is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 00:51   #8 (permalink)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,137
Default Re: I have a question?

Originally Posted by Sephiroth_knight
maybe in the new codex you have to have one but in the old one you don't need a DF for them
no in the new codex you still need the fish thought it is more useful in the new codex.

there are some missions in the taros campain (a Forge World book about a tau VS imperail campain) in which a team of pathfinders are on the feild but with no transport.

if you ask your oppent about it i am sure you can come up with a way round it.

thought iff your new i suggest that dont use pathfinders till you at least got a 1500 piont army they are a expensive unit
Lanfeix is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 01:02   #9 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,794
Default Re: I have a question?

yes, you have to have a devilfish.
Originally Posted by Falstead
Falstead: I don't think you can ever justify a T5 goat in a regular 40k game
Lord_Veqq has joined TauOnline.
Lord_Veqq has left TauOnline.
ToastMaster is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 02:38   #10 (permalink)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Pathfinder question.

If you read the codex (if you are new, I guess not), It would say under Pathfinders: Devilfish-this squad must be mounted on a devilfish. Unless my ESL training fails me, it means you must get a devilfish for your pathfinders.
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pathfinder question Obon80 Tau 10 06 Aug 2009 04:19
pathfinder question xv-22 Tau 1 07 Jun 2008 05:44
Pathfinder Question Dimes Tau 7 02 May 2006 13:21
Pathfinder Question Zedd Tau 13 13 Aug 2004 16:17