Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Fire warrior squads in 2000 and 1000 games / How many do you use?
Closed Thread
Old 17 Jan 2006, 17:36   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Fire warrior squads in 2000 and 1000 games / How many do you use?

I'm new to Tau, but a long time veteran of 40k and other GW games. I'm beginning an escalation league soon, and seek the advice of those more seasoned than myself.

First, let me say that I intend to border on the mech tau doctrine of war. I personally do well with maneuverable armies, and intend to make the most of my ability to position and localize firepower.

How many squads of fire warriors warriors do people run with in a 2000pt game? How about a 100pt? So far, through my introductory low point games, I am extremely impressed with the fire warrior as a basic troop, and am considering going very heavy with them. So I'm curious if people find a particular number of squads to be effective.

Also, as a secondary and related matter, how do people number/compose their fire warrior squads? I've been fiddling with variations, ie 8, 10, 10+2 drones, 12, etc... I can't say I've settled on what works best...

Anyway, I look forward to hearing the responses, and am excited to be a part of Tau online. Thanks.
Old 17 Jan 2006, 18:10   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default Re: Fire warrior squads in 2000 and 1000 games

Welcome to TO !
Well, as a Mech player myself I tend to play 2 squads of 10 FWs w/ a Shas'ui, Mounted in a DF w/ Decoy Launcher, Targeting Array and Multi-tracker, which give me two expensive but effective FWs squads for 420 points in my 1000 points games. I normally try to fill in 3 in my 1500 points one. In 2000 I prefer adding a Pathfinder squad rather than another FW one, but I'm sure you could have 4 mounted units in a 2000 points game (I've never been over 1500).