Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Markerlight - What does it light up?
Closed Thread
Old 23 Dec 2005, 11:34   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Markerlight - What does it light up?

I had my first game last night (my team lost, but we were winning by a mile until the last turn and a half ) and a question arose.

If you hit an enemy that is lit up by a markerlight, they don't get a cover save. That much I know. What I was thinking (but decided against doing) was shooting my submunitions into some troops in a forest, thereby negating both their normal save and their cover save. My team mate said I couldn't do this, though, as it would only work against one model, not the whole unit. I disagreed, thinking it silly that they ignore cover saves, but only on a single model, as it's typically units that get it, not single models.

So I checked the tau book, and it said that the markerlight lights up a "target". It doesn't say model, it doesn't say unit. It just says "target".


So what's a target? Is it a unit, or is it only ever a single model?
tauplayer is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 11:40   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Retired back into the depths of the Internets.
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to mace
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

With normal shooting, you can only shoot at the unit as a whole anyway, not one particular model. I don't see why using a markerlight would be any different, and would cause the whole squad to lose their cover save.

Common sense would also suggest that the whole unit loses their cover save, not just one model, as you pointed out.
__________________
mace is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 11:53   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 82
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

Ah, thats pretty clever. I never really though about that the markerlight removes cover save for the target unit (guess I should be reading the faqs more in depth).
fork is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 14:48   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sandy Eggo
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

> heh yea I can see why that argument arose in the forst place... it IS a little "unfair" to markerlight a 4+ armor save squad all the way across the table in woods, and then drop a Railgun Submunition in on them, and watching them all die!

but thems the rules. dont bend them, because if you did then it would allow Space Marine Veteran with a Powerfist sniping...or other such real rule abuses.

but as for the how, in the above scenario?? got me! high tech markerlight optics... steerable subminutions.... :
__________________
Though I walk through the valley of the swarms of the clueless, I shall fear no idiocy, for the M-STAR flagged them 12 seconds ago, and the JDAMS are already freefalling.
Calaban is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 15:37   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 82
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

bah, we all know the Tau have a need to even the score out a bit. A little abuse here wouldn't hurt* >
fork is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 15:43   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alachua, Florida
Posts: 8,647
Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tauplayer
I had my first game last night (my team lost, but we were winning by a mile until the last turn and a half ) and a question arose.

If you hit an enemy that is lit up by a markerlight, they don't get a cover save. That much I know. What I was thinking (but decided against doing) was shooting my submunitions into some troops in a forest, thereby negating both their normal save and their cover save. My team mate said I couldn't do this, though, as it would only work against one model, not the whole unit. I disagreed, thinking it silly that they ignore cover saves, but only on a single model, as it's typically units that get it, not single models.

So I checked the tau book, and it said that the markerlight lights up a "target". It doesn't say model, it doesn't say unit. It just says "target".


So what's a target? Is it a unit, or is it only ever a single model?
Next time this question arises, simply show your friend the FAQ that states these new rules.

Here's why it works, simply:

1 - Weapons guided by markerlights ignore cover saves (markerlights don't ignore cover).
2 - Submunitions (or any shots for that matter) are weapons; which when guided by the markerlight, ignores the cover save.

It has nothing to do with how many hits you make, etc. The "hits" scored by a weapon, which are guided by a light, ignore cover saves. Plain and simple. The blast templates are used to measure how many hits a weapon of that power can achieve. All of those hits, are generated by a weapon that will ignore cover saves. There shouldn't be any question really; because it's worded perfectly fine, completely in favor of the Tau ignoring the cover saves, completely.

Targets in 4th edition are whole units; not single models (unless the single model counts as a unit).

So remember:

A - You ignore cover saves with weapons guided by a markerlight.
B - Markerlights do not remove cover saves themselves.
C - Anything that shoots and causes damage, regardless of the number of hits, templates, etc, that is guided by a markerlight, ignores those cover saves.

Where ever your opponent came up with the "works on a single model" thing, has no merit as nothing works like that. It's all worded perfectly well in the 4th edition rulebook how templates and hitting, wounding, etc works. And the markerlights are worded just fine in the FAQ in that weapons guided by them, ignore cover saves (just like flamers do).

Always print your FAQs and keep them handy.

Cheers!
__________________
[table][tr][td][/td][td][table][tr][td] [/td][td]Apocalypse is the only way to forty-kay.[/td][/tr][/table][/td][/tr][/table]
MalVeauX is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 20:04   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3,432
Send a message via AIM to MechTau
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

WHAMMY!

I don't see it as abuse, I see it as a well placed tactical blast.

ML's are our best weapon. They get better in the new 'Dex.
__________________
Watch me rebuild my army! - Now with pics of my new scheme!

Open invitation to all: Send me a pm, and I'll be have a look at your army list.
[url=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=11198.0]Crisis Suit Theory, Army Composition, and why Fireknives suck - You've got to read this classic by T0nka
MechTau is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 22:44   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalVeauX
Where ever your opponent came up with the "works on a single model" thing, has no merit as nothing works like that.
It was my team mate, actually, and he's generally pretty good for the rules. Not always, of course, but generally

Quote:
Always print your FAQs and keep them handy.

I did, and I did have it, but the faq doesn't say "target model or unit" it only says target. Now, I know that you can't target a single model in a unit, and had I really wanted to do it I would have argued the point, but I had a better target to hit instead. I just figured I'd get the input of people here before next time, as I'm sure it will come up again before the new codex comes out and changes how markerlights work

I think the best way to clarify would be to point out, as said, that a typical model/unit can only target a single model if it is alone. If not, then it targets the unit. So the markerlight can't select one model in a unit, it has to light the whole thing up. Otherwise anyone can start sniping anyone they please, and the rules are specifically geared to disallow that


tauplayer is offline  
Old 24 Dec 2005, 05:37   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 199
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

u know this really makes marker lights awesome
just one question.

if my 'finders markerlight a squad, does that squad stay markerlit throughout the shooting phase or only until a number of men in that unit have died equal to the number of marker lights placed?
Shana Sel is offline  
Old 24 Dec 2005, 05:54   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Retired back into the depths of the Internets.
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to mace
Default Re: Markerlight - What does it light up?

They are lit until another unit shoots at them in that same shooting phase (specifically - until one model fires one weapon system at the lit unit). If they miss, well that's their problem, the markerlight hit has been 'used', and so cannot be used again.
__________________
mace is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Markerlight question? Gendoikari87 Tau 6 23 Dec 2008 12:28
Markerlight Guidelines geoffe Tau 1 06 Oct 2008 23:12
Markerlight Q super0sonic Tau 9 03 Sep 2006 07:10
if i markerlight somthing... Yoriaki Tau 4 04 Mar 2006 22:04
Markerlight ? battlecraze Tau 4 19 Mar 2005 20:09