Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tau FAQ (3rd Edition Codex)
Closed Thread
Old 24 Nov 2005, 21:22   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: N/A
Posts: 3,379
Default Tau FAQ (3rd Edition Codex)

Work In Progress

[size=20pt]Tau Frequently Asked Questions[/size]

[hr]

[size=15pt]Introduction[/size]

After lots of complaints constructive criticism of our original Tau FAQ thread it has been decided that we shall simply redo the thread so there are two of them. The original thread will become solely for members to ask questions (and get answers from other members), which can be found here, so if you've got some questions this is where they go:

Tau Q&A Thread: http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=4510.0

Whereas this thread will contain nothing more than each question from the other thread listed along with it's answer, so no clutter whatsoever. It will remain locked all the time so no one can post in it, as it will be solely updated by the mods here (those being myself, Aunny and Khanaris) in order for it to remain as useful as possible. Bearing this in mind there maybe times when this thread is not completely up-to-date so if that is the case feel free to PM one of the three of us and we will get it sorted pronto.

Now moving on, before looking through our FAQ section on everything Tau it may be worthwhile browsing the Games-Workshop website to check if the question is already answered in their FAQ. As I'm so kind I'll even give you all a link to the exact page for the Tau FAQ, so here you go:

Games-Workshop Tau FAQ: http://uk.games-workshop.com/tau/faq/1/

[hr]

[size=15pt]Contents[/size]

If your question isn't already answered in that FAQ then feel free to look through the contents of this FAQ and yes, we'll even group them to make your life even easier...

Note: Once you've found what question your interested in you can press Ctrl + F and type it in so it instantly takes you to it.

[iurl=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=14117.msg235516#msg235516][size=12pt]General[/size][/iurl]

Q: What is Mech/Static/Hybrid Tau?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Where can I find the rules for the Human Auxiliaries (Gue'vesa)?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Where can I find the rules for Pathfinder's Rail Rifle?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Where can I find the Tau Font?

[iurl=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=14117.msg235517#msg235517][size=12pt]Units[/size][/iurl]

[size=10pt]Devilfish[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Do the devilfishes count as a single troop choice or is it just "Hooked" on to a squad of your choosing, not taking up a troop choice?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]What are the deployment rules for troops with dedicated transport? Can you deploy in or out, and when must you specify which? Does the transport have to be in coherency?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]How are Gun Drones treated should the Devilfish take a penetrating hit, because passengers of vehicles -must- disembark if the transport takes a single penetrating hit.
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]When I use the Fish of Fury tactic, does the Devilfish block the Line of sight for shooting? Or assaulting?

[size=10pt]Ethereals[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Does an Ethereal allow you to reroll Last Man Standing checks?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Does an Ethereal allow a tau player to reroll leadership tests for shooting?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Aun'Shi is armed with Photon and EMP grenades. If he chooses a unit to be his retinue, does the whole unit get the photons and EMPs or only Aun'Shi?

[size=10pt]Kroot[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]If I had a squad of 12 kroot about 10 inches deep into a forest. Could they still rapid fire at 12 inches? Or would it be halved to 6 inches? Or none at all?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]If an enemy unit assaults a squad of Kroot 10 inches deep into forest, do the Kroot get to strike first? Does a bonus apply because of the Fieldcraft ability and cover saves with Kroot?

[size=10pt]Pathfinders[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Can a Pathfinder equipped with a Rail Rifle use a Markerlight that was fired by a member of the same squad?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]The "Forward Scout" rule says you can move after deployment but before the first turn. Can I move after the dice roll that determine the players turn order?

[size=10pt]Drones[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Do drone casualties count when determining 25% morale checks, half-strength, etc.?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Can drones attached to Fire Warriors or Pathfinders use their jetpack assault move?


[iurl=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=14117.msg235520#msg235520][size=12pt]Weapons/Wargear[/size][/iurl]

[size=10pt]Markerlights[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Does a markerlight remove the cover save of units with built-in cover saves, such as Flaming Falcons? How about that "blizzard wolf" psychic power?

[size=10pt]Seeker Missiles[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Can I fire my Seeker Missiles if I have already shot my Railgun on my Hammerhead?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]If the vehicle is stunned or shaken can the Seeker Missiles still be fired from a Markerlight?

[size=10pt]Target Locks[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]A squad of Crisis Suits with Target Locks decides to split its fire amongst two separate squads. Do you have to check for priority to fire at the squad farther away?

[size=10pt]Tau Jet Packs[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Tau Jetpacks, by the rule book, are limited to a 6'' move in the movement phase and then a 6'' move in the assault. That is how I have played it since the day the Tau were released, and I have gone over the rule book countless times and as far as I can see Jump Packs are completely different from the usual Jump Infantry rules (ie Assault Marines).

[iurl=http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=14117.msg235521#msg235521][size=12pt]Miscellaneous[/size][/iurl]

[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Does AP1 auto-pen on a hull-down vehicle?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]The "Skimmers or AP1" thing is done to death, but what about the Skimmer moving over 6" - if it were open topped?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Can you be forced to shoot at something that you can't damage? Example: Marine squad with all bolters fails leadership, and the front of a devilfish is the closest target.
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Can you penetrate a skimmer in close combat?
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Where does it say models hit on a 6+ in assault against skimmers? I read the rulebook under Skimmers and it only stated the only Glancing Hits rule.


Your question still not answered there? Then your going to have to ask it in the Questions thread, which is here (in case you forgot, or didn't read the blurb):

Tau Q&A Thread: http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=4510.0
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJay
"Nice guys finish last"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tau-killer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Winston Churchill on 23rd August 1940
Never in the field of human satire were so many made to feel so humble by so much acid wit
GOT IT! That’s the one. Just sums RJay up perfectly!
RJay is offline  
Old 10 Dec 2005, 22:21   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default General

[size=11pt]General[/size]

Q: What is Mech/Static/Hybrid Tau?
A: Mech Tau is an army type comprising entirely of mechanised units (and Kroot too), for more information read this. - [ maCe ]

Whereas Static Tau is an army type which doesn't use mechanised units (so no Devilfish mounted Fire Warriors etc) and Hybrid, as the name implies, is a mixture of the two. - RJay

Although by the strictest definition, a Static Tau army would have nothing but an Ethereal, Firewarriors, Kroot, and Broadsides, While a Mechanized Tau army would have none of these units, except the Ethereal and Firewarriors, which would be in Devilfish. Anything in between these two extremes is Hybrid. If you have a single Crisis Suit, you aren't really static. If you have a single unit that can't move 12" per turn, you aren't really mechanized. - march10k

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Where can I find the rules for the Human Auxiliaries (Gue'vesa)?
[size=10pt]A:[/size] The rules for the Gue'vesa can be found on the Games-Workshop website, here: http://uk.games-workshop.com/chapter...2Dauxiliaries/. - RJay

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Where can I find the rules for Pathfinder's Rail Rifle?
[size=10pt]A:[/size] The rules for the Pathfinder's Rail Rifle can be found on the Games-Workshop website, here: http://uk.games-workshop.com/tau/railrifle/1/. - RJay

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Where can I find the Tau Font?
[size=10pt]A:[/size] Download Here (Windows Version), extract it somewhere, and copy the font file to c:/windows/fonts. -[ maCe ]
khanaris is offline  
Old 10 Dec 2005, 22:22   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Units

[size=11pt]Units[/size]

[size=10pt]Devilfish[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Do the devilfishes count as a single troop choice or is it just "Hooked" on to a squad of your choosing not taking up a troop choice?
A: Attached to the squad it is bought for, as it is a transport upgrade for the unit, and does not have it's own unit entry in a specific part of the army list. Also see the rules for Dedicated Transports in the 4th ed rulebook. – [ mace ]

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] What are the deployment rules for troops with dedicated transport? Can you deploy in or out, and when must you specify which? Does the transport have to be in coherency?
A: You do not need to deploy a unit in or anywhere near its dedicated transport.* See page 81 of the 4th edition rulebook. – Khanaris

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] How are Gun Drones treated should the Devilfish take a penetrating hit, because passengers of vehicles -must- disembark if the transport takes a single penetrating hit.
A: Gun Drones are treated as passengers should the vehicle take damage, which is in this case going to be applicable generally, unless there is a new FAQ updated on it as it does raise interesting concerns and really hurts the Devilfish. – MalVeauX

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] When I use the Fish of Fury tactic, does the Devilfish block the Line of sight for shooting? Or assaulting?
A: The Devilfish only blocks the LOS from "attempting" assaulters, as they cannot come within 1" of the Devilfish; it does not block the LoS from shooting attacks. – Aunny

[size=10pt]Ethereals[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Does an ethereal allow you to reroll Last Man Standing checks?
A: Last Man Standing is a leadership test, not a moral check. That means the Ethereal does not help with Last Man Standing checks. – Aunny

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Does an ethereal allow a tau player to reroll leadership tests for shooting?
A: Ethereals only allow you to re - roll Morale checks not leadership tests. Morale check is based on a units leadership rating however it is different to a leadership test. It does say this in the Ethereals rules. – Kesalin

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Aun'Shi is armed with Photon and EMP grenades. If he chooses a unit to be his retinue, does the whole unit get the photons and EMPs or only Aun'Shi?
A: No.* Both Photon and EMP grenades work on a per model basis.* You would need to buy them for the Fire Warriors separately.* Whether or not you buy the grenades for everyone, Aun'Shi can still use his EMP grenades and any models attacking him will lose their bonus attack for charging. – Khanaris

[size=10pt]Kroot[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] If I had a squad of 12 kroot about 10 inches deep into a forest. Could they still rapid fire at 12 inches? Or would it be halved to 6 inches? Or none at all?
A: Notice in the rules of Field Craft it states that if you do not move, you can see and shoot through up to 12 inches of terrain, instead of the 6 inches that would normally be the case? That is because we cannot see through area terrain (in your case, jungle terrain) very far. But Kroot's special rule allows them to see through much more than normal, but only if they do not move. It has nothing to do with your opponent coming to you or anything like that. – MalVeauX

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] If an enemy unit assaults a squad of Kroot 10 inches deep into forest, do the Kroot get to strike first? Does a bonus apply because of the Fieldcraft ability and cover saves with Kroot?
A: As others have said, you will be striking first at Initiative 10. If both units started in cover, that would be different. But because he assaulted you in cover, meaning he entered it and did not start there with you, then he is forced to suffer the consequences of charging into a defensive area like that. The only way he could have changed this, is if he had Flesh Hooks (the equivalent of Frag Grenades) allowing him to strike at the same initiative, but never higher than you. This whole situation is only in effect on that first time that they are charged in cover. Afterwards, such as in the next player turn if they're all still around, they will strike at normal initiative values, etc. – MalVeauX

[size=10pt]Pathfinders[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Can a Pathfinder equipped with a Rail Rifle use a Markerlight that was fired by a member of the same squad?
A: No, you can't, as they fire simultaneously. – Olannon

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] The "Forward Scout" rule says you can move after deployment but before the first turn. Can I move after the dice roll that determine the players turn order?
A: Yes, you move after the dice rolls for first turn has been made. – Olannon

[size=10pt]Drones[/size]
[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Do drone casualties count when determining 25% morale checks, half-strength, etc.?
A: Page 19 of the Tau Codex: Drones, Objectives and Victory Points
Drones are included when determining whether a unit needs to take a Casualty test, and also for holding objectives, and victory points - as per the Rulebook (The table on page 85 of the BFM rulebook). Why that is? I guess it's because whoever was controlling the model becomes insecure without two little bodyguard drones protecting him. Who knows :\ Pretty dodgy rule in my opinion, as the drones were meant to be used to absorb hits anyway... – Mace

[size=10pt]Q: [/size]Can drones attached to Fire Warriors or Pathfinders use their jetpack assault move?
A: Yes, the Drones can use their assault move to get to a different part of the unit, as long as unit coherency is kept intact. So they can move to the front of the squad in the Assault Phase - it's a handy tactic to use. – Mace
khanaris is offline  
Old 10 Dec 2005, 22:23   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Weapons/Wargear

[size=11pt]Weapons/Wargear[/size]

[size=10pt]Markerlights[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Does a markerlight remove the cover save of units with built-in cover saves, such as Flaming Falcons? How about that "blizzard wolf" psychic power?
A: Markerlights always remove the cover save from their targets. It doesn't matter if it's a latent cover save, or just an acquired one from sitting in cover. Either way, it's still negated by the weapon if it's guided by a markerlight (ie: you can shoot right through rangers cloaks, concealment powers, etc). – MalVeauX

[size=10pt]Seeker Missiles[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Can I fire my Seeker Missiles if I have already shot my Railgun on my Hammerhead?
A: Current FAQ (V 4.0.1) says that you can fire seeker missiles in addition to vehicles other weapons. – The Orange

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] If the vehicle is stunned or shaken can the Seeker Missiles still be fired from a Markerlight?
A: As per the description for the seeker missiles on page 20 of the Tau Codex the Seeker Missiles are not part of the vehicle other than being carried by it and so cannot be fired by the crew (and so are not effective by crew shaken and crew stunned) This means that if you vehicle suffers crew shaken then you can still launch the missiles using marker lights. Also, as they are an upgrade (see the Armoury on page 20 of the Tau Codex) and not actually a weapon they cannot be destroyed by the weapon destroyed result on the vehicle damage chart on page 67 of the Warhammer 40k rulebook. – GW Hobby Specialist

[size=10pt]Target Locks[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] A squad of Crisis Suits with Target Locks decides to split its fire amongst two separate squads. Do you have to check for priority to fire at the squad farther away?
A: The way the rules stand now, you must take a leadership test whenever you want to fire at an enemy unit that is not closest to you. So whenever you split your fire, you will probably be taking a test. – Khanaris

[size=10pt]Tau Jetpacks[/size]
[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Tau Jetpacks, by the rule book, are limited to a 6'' move in the movement phase and then a 6'' move in the assault. That is how I have played it since the day the Tau were released, and I have gone over the rule book countless times and as far as I can see Jump Packs are completely different from the usual Jump Infantry rules (ie Assault Marines).
A: Jetpacks move like Jump Infantry (the same classification as Jump Packs) with the exception that they move 6" in the move phase and can always move 6" again in the assault phase, even if they do not assault. They may always fire rapid fire once up to max range, even if the unit moved, and may declare charges after shooting a rapid fire weapon. – AunLa
khanaris is offline  
Old 10 Dec 2005, 22:24   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Miscellaneous

[size=11pt]Miscellaneous[/size]

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Does AP1 auto-pen on a hull-down vehicle?
A: Hull-down no longer exists. Instead, we have Obscured Targets. An AP1 weapon will only be able to auto-penetrate (instead of merely glancing) if it's possible to penetrate in the first place. For a vehicle that is obscured, there is a dice roll for this, which allows a 50% chance that you can only glance it, or not. Should you roll that D6 and determine that it is indeed obscured, then no, you may not auto-penetrate it with an AP1 weapon as it will be "glance only" for that turn. However, if you determined otherwise with that D6 that the vehicle was not obscured, then yes, you may auto-penetrate it assuming you don't roll a 1 for penetration. – MalVeauX

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] The "Skimmers or AP1" thing is done to death, but what about the Skimmer moving over 6" - if it were open topped?
A: Being "Glance Only" and being "Open-Topped" are not related in terms of one canceling the other. For example, Dark Eldar Raiders are fast and open-topped. They can move quickly and take advantage of the "Skimmers moving fast" rule. At the same time though, they're open-topped. Should one be glanced, it would add +1 to the damage chart when rolling for damage, thus making it much easier to destroy, even though it's only glanceable. – MalVeauX

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Can you be forced to shoot at something that you can't damage? Example: Marine squad with all bolters fails leadership, and the front of a devilfish is the closest target.
A: Yes. The rulebook is very specific about what constitutes a "unit", and the target priority use that term. It represents the fact that units may panic and fire at an oncoming vehicle even if they have no hope of damaging it. – Khanaris

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Can you penetrate a skimmer in close combat?
A: This one is a little debateable, since the auto-glance rule is in the shooting section rather than the assault section. Interpreted literally, though, a skimmer that has moved over 6" may never be penetrated in any phase. – Khanaris

[size=10pt]Q:[/size] Where does it say models hit on a 6+ in assault against skimmers? I read the rulebook under Skimmers and it only stated the only Glancing Hits rule.
A: It is on page 71 of the main 4th Edition Rulebook, or just under the table that lists what you need to hit various types of vehicles at different speeds. It is on the same page as the Death or Glory rules. – Khanaris
khanaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5th Edition codex Scout Sergeant Mkoll Tyranids 23 18 Jan 2010 18:00
Iron Warriors in 5th edition with 4th edition codex jimmy_mymail Forces of Chaos 17 23 Jun 2009 23:12
1st edition codex Chapter champion Space Marines 2 02 Jun 2009 17:03
Codex Dark Angels: 5th edition, using Codex Space Marines Falstead House Rules 17 13 Oct 2008 23:20