Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Skimmer Vs. markerlight question
Closed Thread
Old 21 Nov 2005, 22:19   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 167
Default Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

my question is this, the marker light makes weapons hit on +2 but the "skimmers moving fast" rule makes weapon hit on 6's, so does the markerlight user light up on 6 and the weapon firing using the light to hit on +2 or do they both hit on 6?
MYcrimsonTEARS is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2005, 22:22   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Yriel of Iyanden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 3,180
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

I think you're reading the Skimmers Moving Fast rule incorrectly.

You need a 6 to hit a skimmer in close combat only. No matter how fast it moved, when shooting at a skimmer you use your normal BS (or ordnance rules if firing ordnance). So using a markerlight to shoot at a skimmer means you will hit it on 2+.
__________________
Yriel of Iyanden is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2005, 22:48   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

Right, it says in the rulebook that any skimmer moving 6" or more take penetrating hits as glancing so using a markerlight still causes a 2+ to hit. I couldn't find anything about only being able to hit skimmers on a 6+. could anyone tell me where that is?
White Wolf is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2005, 23:25   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

In close combat (but not in shooting, as Yriel noted), you need a 6+ to hit a vehicle that has moved over 6".* Skimmers always count as moving over 6" unless immobilized, whether or not they actually moved that turn.
khanaris is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2005, 23:27   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 96
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

Are you sure that they always count as moving over 6" in CC? I don't have my rulebook on me at the moment.
__________________
Two guys walk into a bar. The third one ducks.

"98% of Teenagers have tried smoking pot OR drinking. If you're one of the 2% that hasn't, copy and paste this into your sig." -Oops, not anymore!
ShasO_Ores_Malcaor is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2005, 23:30   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

The Markerlight has no effect whatsoever in the assault phase, so yes.
khanaris is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2005, 23:30   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

As stated above the 6 rule only applies to assault so the markerlight user would use their normal BS, so a pathfinder would need a 4+ and then the gun marked for needs a 2+. Markerlights cant help you in close combat however so its always a 6+ if you want to dent a still moving skimmer.
__________________



Vash113 is offline  
Old 22 Nov 2005, 00:19   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sandy Eggo
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

yea, in CC skimmers are ALWAYS hit on only a 6 (ask any Ork tankbusta!)

but on topic, I guess the real question is: does the markerlights benefit negate the 'glancing only' fast moving skimmer benefit.... fluff-wise, since markerlights negate coversaves due to the big blue dot on the targets forehead, the same should go for the Skimmers' engine pods... or whatever. :
__________________
Though I walk through the valley of the swarms of the clueless, I shall fear no idiocy, for the M-STAR flagged them 12 seconds ago, and the JDAMS are already freefalling.
Calaban is offline  
Old 22 Nov 2005, 00:54   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaban
yea, in CC skimmers are ALWAYS hit on only a 6 (ask any Ork tankbusta!)

but on topic, I guess the real question is: does the markerlights benefit negate the 'glancing only' fast moving skimmer benefit.... fluff-wise, since markerlights negate coversaves due to the big blue dot on the targets forehead, the same should go for the Skimmers' engine pods... or whatever.* :
Not in the current rules.* *It also doesn't help with obscured vehicles. :-\
khanaris is offline  
Old 22 Nov 2005, 02:42   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 167
Default Re: Skimmer Vs. markerlight question

thanks for the replies, and yeah i didn't read it wrong i was doing something with out the rule book next to me. but what about the rail heads AP1 does it still count? or is the glancing only rule used?
MYcrimsonTEARS is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast skimmer Question Shas0 K0Vash General 40K 11 11 Apr 2010 06:58
Skimmer Question oldwolfplayer General 40K 12 27 May 2007 16:48
Another skimmer question... 24mech Tau 5 31 May 2006 16:30
Cover height and skimmer question Aunshasta Tau 23 08 Mar 2006 23:56
Skimmer Question Sightline Tau 7 24 Jul 2005 10:32