Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Rule Question About Pathfinder
Closed Thread
Old 09 Nov 2005, 19:46   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default Rule Question About Pathfinder

I got two Simple question about Pathfinder's

First, the foward Scout rules say's you can move after deployment but before the first turn. Can i move after the dice roll that determine the players turn order?

Second, Can a Pathfinder equip with a rail rifle use a Market light from one of his friend, or all "Shooting" get resolve at the same time...


Thanks !


Ben

Jux Ap VorGrumm is offline  
Old 09 Nov 2005, 19:48   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to Earlydawn
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben'To
I got two Simple question about Pathfinder's

First, the foward Scout rules say's you can move after deployment but before the first turn. Can i move after the dice roll that determine the players turn order?

Second, Can a Pathfinder equip with a rail rifle use a Market light from one of his friend, or all "Shooting" get resolve at the same time...


Thanks !


Ben

A- I believe so. If both sides have a scout move, I think you roll for first scout move.

B- Yeah, I don't see any reason why not.
__________________
"Phase one complete. Let's take the bridge."
Earlydawn is offline  
Old 09 Nov 2005, 20:02   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to LtCariad
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

The way I understand it, the answer to your second question about RR using the same squad's markers to fire, is that it is NOT allowed. They are all firing at the same time. I seem to recall seeing some kind of ruling to back that up. Try searching for it.

I think that the Pathfinder "pre-game move" is performed after you've decided who goes first. It is a "turn" in itself that only happens to play out before the standard game turns. Note that this is just the way I've interpreted it.
LtCariad is offline  
Old 09 Nov 2005, 20:06   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sayville, NY
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to xShaperx
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

I always play it after first turn dice have been rolled, what tactical advantage do you get by blindly moving forward?

As for the second question, you'll have to type it better, I can't understand what you're asking.

Oh, and here's another question for this bullitten. It says that they may always set up on the table if you're playing a mission with Reserves. Well I played a game the other day that let me set up 1 unit and the rest come in as Reserves, so I figured I'd set up my unit and then my Pathfinder squad gets to come in anyway. Is that how it is or does their rule basically pick them as my choice for the 1 unit to set up initially?
__________________
I love the smell of promethium in the morning

Shas'ui Kel'shan Mont'au Mal'caor: The Terror Spider of Kel'shan

www.myspace.com/nathanhotdog
xShaperx is offline  
Old 09 Nov 2005, 20:20   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 304
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

Basically, you do the set up and figure out who goes first. Then, before anything else happens, every unit with the forward scout ability (like pathfinders) get their free move. If both sides have forward scouts, then you roll for that.

For markerlights, I do recall a ruling that said since units fire together, the rail rifles cannot use markerlights from the same squad…even if they have target locks.

For the added question, since the wording is "may always set up", I would think you have the choice of either placing them in addition to your 1 required unit, instead of or keeping them off the board. The only thing is…I don’t recall if the wording was "may always" or "must always". Must would seem to imply that the unit has to be the 1 unit placed….may seems like you have options.
cawshis is offline  
Old 09 Nov 2005, 20:30   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stathelle, Norway
Posts: 1,067
Send a message via MSN to Olannon
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

Okay, I'm gonna keep it simple, as I can't refer to my rules sources, (but I'm 99% sure that I'm right).
1st question: Yes, you move after the dice rolls for first turn's been made
2nd question: No, you can't, as they fire simultaneously

Hope I helped

~Olannon
Olannon is offline  
Old 09 Nov 2005, 20:36   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

Thanks to all for the quick response!



Jux Ap VorGrumm is offline  
Old 12 Nov 2005, 15:36   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 106
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

Is this threadromancy yet?* Hope not...

I just noticed this, and got out my BBB to check.

The wording of the Scouts rule in the USR section reads "...after both sides have deployed (including infiltrators) any Scouts may make a 'free move'. This move happens before rolling to see who goes first."

Sorry to rain on your parade, but that seems to be how it is.* OTOH, you are not obliged to set up your Pathfinders in Escalation missions etc., but you can if you want.

usmarox* O0
__________________
Hive Fleet Cerberus - Coming to wipe that silly smile off your planet

Balanced is the new cheese i'd reckon. - Brushmonkey, on how 40K is supposed to be...

Best Tyranid player in the UK...until GT Heat 2, anyway...
usmarox is offline  
Old 12 Nov 2005, 18:49   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

With the RR question, when i played in Conflict Toronto, i asked a ref and he said its ok to use the markerlight to giude the RR, since he did himself!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline  
Old 12 Nov 2005, 22:30   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to Shirrin
Default Re: Rule Question About Pathfinder

You cant use markerlights on the same unit with the markerlight. Its in the FAQ.
__________________
"I am the Triggerman, I pull the Trigger"
Rest in Peace KJ
Shirrin is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pathfinder question Obon80 Tau 10 06 Aug 2009 04:19
Pathfinder question shaso_montyr Tau 12 15 Sep 2007 01:18
Pathfinder question. BLUEBOY70C Tau 11 22 Jan 2006 00:27
Pathfinder Question Zedd Tau 13 13 Aug 2004 16:17