Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New to Tau, Starting Army advice
Closed Thread
Old 03 Nov 2005, 00:22   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default New to Tau, Starting Army advice

I am just getting into 40k. I bought a bunch of codex's and have decided on Tau. Here is my first stab at a 1200 point force. I have a list of questions at the end of this.

HQ (Troop Killers)
Shas'el with Multi Tracker + 2 Plasma Guns (87 points)
2 XV8 BG with M.T. + 2 Plasma Guns (154 points)

Troops
1 Kroot Squad of 10 (70 points)
1 Fire Warrior Squad of 9 + 1 shas'ui w/ Markerlight (90 points) + (20 points)

Heavy
1 broadside squad (3 broadsides) w/ M.T. (225 points)
1 broadside squad (3 broadsides) w/ M.T. (225 points)

1 Hammerhead + rail gun + M.T. + Dis. Pod + Targ Array + burst cannons (160 points)
1 Hammerhead + ion + M.T. + Dis. Pod + Smart Missle (155 points)

total: 1186 points

I found a place where I can buy troops for 25% off G.W. Prices. God fear how much Games Workshop marks crap up. Don't get me started on the G.W. employee who claimed that the best deal for PVA glue was through them at 10 bucks for a small tube. For 10 bucks you can drown in "Elmer's glue" (PVA) from home depot... I digress...

This is how I intend to buy my troops:
1 tau battle box ($90) *99120113002*
6 XV-88 Broadside ($210) *99140113005*
2 hammer head boxes ($80) *99120113004*
-25%
Total = $285

My questions include the following:
1. Should I buy a 1000 point army or a 1500 point army instead? Why?
2. Advice on the army list, suggestions for different units. Please provide any feedback on how wonky my troop choice may be.
3. Different route for buying the army? If so, how? These things are expensive.

I just wanted to thank you all up front, I have learned so much from these forums. I can't wait to get my troops painted and in battle!

-Saffo
Old 03 Nov 2005, 00:31   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O