Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

FW DF rules question
Closed Thread
Old 07 Oct 2005, 18:42   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 196
Default FW DF rules question

Commanders,

My apologies if this has been answered elsewhere!
After deploying FW does the DF count as cover for Fire Warriors? They can shoot under it and can be shot at, but does the transport count as cover?
Thanks!
Omen is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 19:01   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to Earlydawn
Default Re: FW DF rules question

No. The devilfish is a skimmer, so you don't get a cover save by using it as a rolling bunker, a la SWAT teams and their tactical vans. However, there is the interesting topic of the DF's landing gear. Short of it is that you can declare your fish "landed" and remove it's skimmer ability for a turn. Maybe someone else could shed some more light on those specifics for you..
__________________
"Phase one complete. Let's take the bridge."
Earlydawn is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 20:52   #3 (permalink)
42
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Haddenham, Aylesbury, Bucks, England
Posts: 4,098
Send a message via MSN to 42
Default Re: FW DF rules question

Landing Gear should be in the new codex - but both Devilfishes and Hammerheads can have them. Either vehicle can choose to 'land' at any point in the game, however then loose their skimmer ability for the rest of the game - not just one turn.

To count a devilfish without landing gear as cover however the Devilfish would have had to have been wrecked or have crash landed!

--42
__________________
42 is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 23:32   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peru
Posts: 150
Default Re: FW DF rules question

I agree with you, 42, but...
why not?

The DF don't block LOS but there are terrain that don't, and they give cover saves.
Only with the rules, the DF is a vehicle and they do give a 4+ CS.
I can imagine that is the same as been inside a building firing from the windows, it don't block my LOS, the enemy can shoot me, but it gives me a CS...

After all, I see the FW in their knees, or laying on the floor shooting under the DF, and the enemy unit not only have to pass LD to shoot them but have to do it aiming thru the space at the bottom of the vehicle.
Drodo is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 23:38   #5 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: FW DF rules question

I don't think we have a good answer for this one.* Size 1 area terrain provides a minimal cover save but doesn't block LOS.* Since Devilfish are Size 3, they block LOS completely when landed.* Any fire warriors peeking out around the edges would get a 4+ cover save.

In practice, I would give Fire Warriors behind the Devilfish no more than a 5+ or 6+ cover save, though.* I don't think the 4+ accurately represents the amount of protection shooting from underneath would provide.
khanaris is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 23:49   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peru
Posts: 150
Default Re: FW DF rules question

Yeah, is probably better to just forget the point.
Or to comment it before the agme to agree something with my oponent.
I already have problems with some friends when my crisis, behind the DF, shoot...
Drodo is offline  
Old 08 Oct 2005, 00:03   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: FW DF rules question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drodo
Yeah, is probably better to just forget the point.
Or to comment it before the agme to agree something with my oponent.
I already have problems with some friends when my crisis, behind the DF, shoot...
It shouldn't come up too often. The biggest threat to your Fire Warriors should be masses of AP 5 or 6 weaponry. A few AP 4 shots are annoying, but they will most likely be targeting your Devilfish anyway. You may see the occasional Ordinance template, but try to wipe these out with Hammerheads or Broadsides before you commit your Fire Warriors to aggressive maneuvers.
khanaris is offline  
Old 08 Oct 2005, 00:15   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peru
Posts: 150
Default Re: FW DF rules question

Don't worry, I just play combat patrol at 500p, so no ordnance templates or things too heavy.
Now we are spicing things playing in Cityfight scenarios, and learning the difference in rules.

Mordheim in fantasy, Cityfight Patrol in 40K.
Keeping things simple and quick.
And cheap!
Drodo is offline  
Old 08 Oct 2005, 00:18   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ignis, cooking up some grox!
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to ~PathFinder~ Send a message via Yahoo to ~PathFinder~
Default Re: FW DF rules question

500 points are super fun. in my opinion. You get a simple army, and it's fun to see which squads are more powerful than the other. ;D
__________________
Do you play IG? Join the TO online Campaign and fall in line!
---------------------------------------------------
Thanks, and happy gaming!------------------------
---------------------------------------------------
~PathFinder~ is offline  
Old 08 Oct 2005, 03:09   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Retired back into the depths of the Internets.
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to mace
Default Re: FW DF rules question

The DF isn't terrain at any point. The end.

They never block LOS (exception: landing gear - see below), and it can be assumed that they are hovering several metres above the ground. As they can be physically represented in different ways on the table top, and it would be unfair if people who modelled it with the landing gear down would have advantages over those who modelled it with a flying base etc.

Landing Gear:
Quote:
Originally Posted by {~Felix~}
LANDING GEAR
May opt to set down at beginning of movement phase. Must remain stationary that turn. No longer counts as skimmers. May not land in difficult or impassable terrain.
It basically becames an immobile tank for that turn. Now the rulebook stats that cover is anything that the model can hide in or behind, so if you have something hiding around the corner of a vehicle, as Khanaris stated they would get a 4+ cover save.
__________________
mace is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules Question Straylight General 40K 2 12 Sep 2008 18:55
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34
Rules question irishoneall Imperial Guard 3 21 Mar 2006 23:03
Another rules question. Trick General 40K 2 11 Sep 2005 18:17
A question about the rules Civfanatic Tau Online Comments/Suggestions 1 26 May 2005 20:16