Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Independant Characters
Closed Thread
Old 06 Oct 2005, 12:18   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Default Independant Characters

If an independant character joins a unit (say a necron lord joins some warriors) can i target him individually (with something like a railgun ;D)
__________________
"You sir are a fiendish powergamer." Phrase commonly heard in HBG
Railgunner is offline  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 12:22   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 225
Default Re: Independant Characters

Nope. Hes now part of the unit... and most likely will be the last model removed for casualties. Some special chars can target him but in general no.

THe only other time i think you could target him would be if the entire squad but HIM was out of LOS and you shot at the squad. then he would take wounds as no other model would be able due to LOS.

p

PS Im certain this info could have been found on the site if you did a search.
__________________
"OMG, Firewarriors are teh AWSUM!" - T0nkaTruckDriver
pravo is offline  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 12:23   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Independant Characters

No, no, no and no.

When an Independant Character joins a unit it essentially becomes a part of it. *It moves with it, shoots with it, assaults with it and takes morale checks with it (using it's Ld). *You cannot pick out members of a unit unless you have special rules saying you can (Vindicaire Assassins, for example) or if you're in close combat and have models within 2" of the Independant Character. *There's no 'Railgun Sniping' - and a good thing too!

~Andromidius
__________________
Tactica Imperial Guard: Conscripts
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9751.0
Andromidius is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 00:49   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to Dornigdrache Send a message via Yahoo to Dornigdrache
Default Re: Independant Characters

what if a template weapon hits him?
__________________
"But Captain, I must protest. I am NOT a merry man."
Dornigdrache is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 01:00   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: York
Posts: 201
Default Re: Independant Characters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dornigdrache
what if a template weapon hits him?
does not matter you can take casualties from any part of the unit,not just the part of the unit under the template, as long as you take the amount of casualties suffered it does not matter where the casualties are taken from.
The omly way you would have to take wound on him is if everyone in the unit was covered and every roll to wound was successful (very rare)
Rikimaru1 is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 02:00   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Independant Characters

It is possible to range-snipe independent character out of units if your opponent places them poorly (I.E. the IC is the only model your firing unit can see around a building, or the IC is the only model within the maximum range of their weapons), but that is the only way short of bringing along a Vindicare or Farseer.
khanaris is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 02:10   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Retired back into the depths of the Internets.
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to mace
Default Re: Independant Characters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dornigdrache
what if a template weapon hits him?
Have access to the rulebook and read it? If not, I suggest you find one and read it. Its all covered there, if you want specific references, page 50 and 51 of the BFM rulebook.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaris
It is possible to range-snipe independent character out of units if your opponent places them poorly (I.E. the IC is the only model your firing unit can see around a building, or the IC is the only model within the maximum range of their weapons), but that is the only way short of bringing along a Vindicare or Farseer.
Yes, very possible. As the IC is in a unit, the normal rules apply for shooting at units, thus models being out of LOS/range aren't counted for casualties (as you said) etc etc etc..
__________________
mace is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 07:20   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Holme
Posts: 9
Default Re: Independant Characters

to go over what everyone just said, the caracter is treated as part of the unit.

one question though. can you remove the character from the unit?
__________________
You Do Not Comprehend The Power That Is Me!
Shadow is offline  
Old 07 Oct 2005, 07:28   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Independant Characters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow
to go over what everyone just said, the caracter is treated as part of the unit.

one question though. can you remove the character from the unit?
Welcome to the forums!


If you mean as a casualty, then yes, although there are very few cases where this would be a good idea and it will not always be legal if the character has a different armor save (mixed-armor rules).

An independent character may leave a unit he has joined at the beginning of your movement phase, provided of course that the unit in question was not purchased as a retinue for that model.
khanaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Independant characters with stealths OVladimir Tau 8 23 Apr 2008 09:35
Fortune and Independant Characters? AuinMyrrath Craftworld Eldar 3 10 Jun 2007 09:05
independant characters - unless.......... El Magnifico General 40K 39 23 May 2007 20:47
Are Assassins 'Independant Characters'? Tom Norman The Inquisition 2 05 Jan 2007 00:49
Independant Characters in the support role Dom Space Marines 4 24 Feb 2006 12:46