Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Crisis Loophole!?
Reply
Old 27 Jun 2015, 06:28   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
LastRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 261
Lightbulb Crisis Loophole!?

Hey guys I was doing some practice rounds while following the rulebook to I can be more familiar with the rules to speed up games. I think I have found a loophole in the rulings as of 7th edition rules states this.

pg. 49(Assault Phase)
-Number of Attacks-

+1 Two Weapons: Engaged models with two single-handed weapons (OFTEN a Melee weapon and/ or PISTOL in each hand) get +1 Attack. Models with more than two weapons gain no additional benefit; you only get one extra Attack, even if you have four arms and a sword in each.

Now for the loophole example
-Crisis suit has 2 fusion blasters(which are both one handed) by the rulebook this should allow the crisis suits or any suit with more than one weapon able to get the +1 attack.

Now granted you shouldn't be in melee anyway, but I thought this was interesting and needed investigation so if you happen to have any more facts for me that would be great. Otherwise lets discuss where we can use this to our benefit/deterrent hope you guys have a great day!
__________________
The First, The Last, The only...
LastRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2015, 07:08   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,241
Default

The rule only applies to close combat weapons. Pistols are the exception as they have a special rule included in them that makes them a close combat weapon as well as an assault weapon.
Carrelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2015, 17:01   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
LastRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 261
Default

Still by rule wording it doesn't say it only applies to close wombat weapons
__________________
The First, The Last, The only...
LastRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jun 2015, 18:19   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,241
Default

Pretty sure the No Specified Melee Weapon rule takes precedence:
"If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon."

We have 2 guns in the shooting phase, but when combat starts they become a single close combat weapon, not 2 separate single handed weapons.
Carrelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jun 2015, 15:40   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
LastRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 261
Default

True that does sound about right, do you know where that is in the book so I can compare?
__________________
The First, The Last, The only...
LastRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jun 2015, 16:05   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Frozen North
Posts: 1,241
Default

Page 41
Section: Close Combat Weapons
Subsection: No Specific Melee Weapon
Carrelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jun 2015, 00:49   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
LastRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 261
Default

Ahhh cool thanks for the clarification was exactly what I was looking for, but hey loopholes to win are all the better. Thanks for the assist!
__________________
The First, The Last, The only...
LastRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On