Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Help me compose my first army!
Old 21 Apr 2015, 05:13   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Help me compose my first army!

Hey guys,
A few friends just recently got me into 40K. I was familiar with the races from the Dawn of War video game series () and always enjoyed the shock and awe that the Tau could throw down, so I thought they'd be my first army!

I've managed to pick up a prety decent size starter army on the cheap from craigslist, and was hoping you guys could help me assemble a 500 AND 1000pt army that I can play and learn with (again, I'm a total newb). Hopefully I'm not supposed to post this in the "army list" forum section...

Here's what I have to build with. I won't be getting a Riptide anytime soon because $$$.
1x Crisis Suit Commander
1x Ethereal
24x Fire Warrior
28x Kroot Carnivore
2x Kroot Hound
8x Pathfinders
3x Stealsuit
6x XV8 Crisis Suits
3x XV88 Broadsides (the old ones)
2x Devilfish
1x Hammerhead
20x Gun drone (planning to be convert some to marker/shield/missile depending on what's needed)
3x Marker Drone
1x Recon Drone
1x Pulse Accelerator Drone
1x Grav-Inhibitor Drone

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

[EDIT] PS: I'll be facing Imperial Guard, Eldar, Dark Eldar and Grey Knight armies (perhaps that narrows down some choices).

Last edited by Ribber; 21 Apr 2015 at 05:17.
Ribber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Apr 2015, 05:44   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

You have so many options! I really can't give you too much advice... there's just too many options.
Battlesuits are going to be your best unit. Take as many as you can while still maintaining the 2 troops and 1 HQ choice minimum... and go from there.