Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

heavy support?
Old 09 May 2014, 19:26   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default heavy support?

hi there,

im new to all this and could do with some advice; my current army is simply the battleforce plus another fire warrior box and i would like to add some HS to the army. I have heard that broadsides are good but i would only be able to afford one.

thanks
Bookworm21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 May 2014, 19:51   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Hey Bookworm,
You are correct in being concerned about a single broadside's performance. A team on 2 or 3 can rock, but a team of one simply won't put out enough firepower or have enough survivability to be a real star of the show. For a little more money you can buy a hammerhead/skyray kit which has the added benefit of having the 2 vehicle options in one kit (so you can play around with which one you like in your army lists; spare parts and options are always awesome to have).

Now, this is just looking at the heavy support pick because you asked for that specifically. As far as purchases go, starting out I'd actually recommend a whole second battleforce instead of any one single purchase. It's just one of the best kits out there right now and comes with so much stuff you will want in your army (since you already have a second box of fire warriors if you go this route you may want to consider converting a couple fire warriors into fireblades to serve as HQs). Alternatively, the riptide is just amazing for the Tau and easily does the job of any one of our fully optimized heavy support choices. Alternatively again, 2 piranhas are about the same price as the hammerhead kit, and can be a really different and unique unit for Tau (a team of 2 or 3 is so many times better than just 1 that it's worth considering getting another one whether you buy another battleforce or not).