Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Newbie needs help
Old 07 Mar 2014, 06:35   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Newbie needs help

Hi,

I am a long time fantasy player (mostly O&G), but i am totally new to 40k. To be honest i never intended to start playing 40k, because i think most models are hideous and totally rediculous (probably a bad intro on a 40k site). The concept of driving WW1 tanks through space just does not really work with me. And dont get me started about Orcs...euh Orks!

However, i recently moved from the Netherlands to Turkey and here the hobby is quite small, with Fantasy almost non existant. So to get in on the fun here i am tempted to start with 40k. I can pick up some second hand Tau stuff for a reasonable price and the Tau really fit my idea about space a bit more and are actually the only army of which i like the models (save the kroot). The problem is that the second hand lot is really big, way to big for my needs and budget, but the seller agreed to let me come up with a list of the things i want.

But since i am an absolute beginner when it comes to 40k i need some help.

So here is the list of models i can pick from. And i prefer to go without Kroot. The seller is asking roughy 400-450 euros for the total, but i have max 200 Euros available. So please give me some advice on what units i really need or are nice to have to make a balanced force (am no power gamer, but off course i like to have a fair chance at winning).

thanks.

Assembled or painted:
3 Ethereals
30 Attack Drones
40 Fire Warriors
5 Pathfinders (converted)
2 Stingwings
40 Kroot Warriors
2 Kroot Shaper
4 Kroot Hounds
1 Krootox
2 Devilfish
1 Hammerhead/Skyray
3 XV 25 Stealth Team
9 XV8 Battlesuit/battlesuits
2 XV88Broadside/broadsides

New in box:
1 Battlesuit Commander
12 Fire Warriors
1 Devilfish
1 Drone Sniper Team

Last edited by BorkBork; 07 Mar 2014 at 06:39.
BorkBork is offline   Reply With Quote