Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Planet Strike Tau
Old 24 Jan 2014, 09:50   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Planet Strike Tau

I am defending as Tau in a 2000pt planetstrike game against eldar. I have very little experience in planetstrike, such as setting up boards, choosing units etc. With this in mind, what are everyone's suggestions as to use of stratagems and setting up of defenses, terrain etc.
Emberkahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jan 2014, 10:15   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

I have no fricking idea...

Shoot people? I don't know how Planetstrike works...
Old 24 Jan 2014, 10:47   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Advice for fighting 2000 points of eldar would be useful as well
Old 24 Jan 2014, 10:59   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Well their Infantry are fragile, but move fast. I'd recommend some Flamer Crisis teams to hunt them down, maybe with an Airbursting Frag to make them even more killy. It'll negate any cover and armour most Guardians and Dire Avengers have.

Wave Serpents re best dealt with by using mass S7. I personally always run:
Shas’O Commander
Dual Missiles, Shield Generator, Target Lock
Iridium Armour, PEN

3 Crisis Suits
Shas’Vre, CnCN, MSSS
Dual Missiles, Target Lock
Dual Missiles, Target Lock

They give me the ability to threaten up to three targets per shooting phase, and can hit and Glance pretty reliably. Wave Serpents should be glanced to death, that Serpent Shield makes penetration worthless. The Commander gives them the durability they need to stay standing by tanking fire. Fire Prisms also have pretty weak armour, and you can glance them to death given Tank Hunter.

This squad will also be useful for putting Wounds down on Wraithknights. Pity Missile Pods aren't AP3, but then they'd be an auto-take.