Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

EMP Grenades
Reply
Old 17 Jan 2014, 21:43   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Emberkahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 183
Default EMP Grenades

I've loved the potential of these for some time but never effectively have I employed them. They seem to only exist to deter dreadnoughts in assault drop pods. That being said, has anyone ever used them as an offensive unit in an allcomers/otherwise list, and if so how effective was it?
Emberkahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jan 2014, 22:09   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
CoffeeGrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Default

They're fun, but the squad that uses them effectively has to give up using its guns on the turn you want to charge. They're definitely effective, but it's the delivery of the squad to the target that's the problem.
__________________
"All Shas'la! Follah me tah gloray!"
CoffeeGrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jan 2014, 22:50   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Emberkahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 183
Default

I completely agree with that; and as such has anyone had success with delivery systems?
Emberkahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Jan 2014, 22:54   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
CoffeeGrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Default

Outflanking Pathfinders are all I've tried, with a little success. It was an 8 man team, so it costed 24pts for that ability. They have to hole up somewhere for the turn they come in, for cover, then try and intercept whatever they wanna kill. It helps if your opponent doesn't know they have EMP 'Nades.

Having a Riptide or something with a Positional Relay set up on the board edge you want them on is very handy. I personally do this during deployment, as when deploying first most people will place their tanks in LoS of my Riptide. Given that we aim for some mid-table LoS blocking scenery, I can tease Predators into setting up opposite him, and use the Posi Relay to open a backdoor of sorts if he's within 6" of the board edge.
__________________
"All Shas'la! Follah me tah gloray!"
CoffeeGrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2014, 07:09   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
wilderun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 176
Default

Against mechanized guard it could be all right. Playing against my guard buddy for a while I would bring an sms devilfish with a full squad of fire warriors with carbines and emps and try to work them into his backfield to take out tanks and transports. In one game they really stirred things up, taking out an infantry squad, basilisk and leman russ to win the game. But most of the time they wouldn't be able to get near enough to be effective, especially with all the firepower that would be focused against the 'fish early on.
wilderun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2014, 08:13   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
CoffeeGrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Default

Maybe a 6 man team in a basic Fish? Could be a somewhat cheap distraction...
__________________
"All Shas'la! Follah me tah gloray!"
CoffeeGrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jan 2014, 10:45   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Arufel87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 297
Default

I've tried the 6 man squad in a fish with varying degrees of success. If the fish gets wrecked then the opponent has to devote valuable resources to killing 6 guys before they take out something nasty. It's a good surprise trick but not a competitive game changer IMO.
__________________
'Better to be a cynic than a fool.'
Arufel87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2014, 20:42   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
ColdCast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States of America
Posts: 344
Default

Coffeegrunt, why is it that Pathfinders would have to hole up for a turn?

Looking though their rules, I couldn't find anything that disallows them from charging when they arrive from reserve, even through outflank. The scout rule mentions something, but they are only disallowed from charging in the first turn IF they make a scout redeployment.

Is there a general rule that reserves coming in outside of deepstrike cannot assault? I had thought that outflanking FW's or pathfinders on foot with EMP's would be a solid way to go after tanks, particularly if you had a positional relay.
__________________
Commander Coldwind Vash'ya - Tau 2500 pts

Tau ARE humanity. The Imperium is the Covenant.
Orks are the flood.
ColdCast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2014, 22:46   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
CoffeeGrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Default

You cannot charge from Reserves, whether by Deep Striking or Outflanking.
__________________
"All Shas'la! Follah me tah gloray!"
CoffeeGrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Jan 2014, 19:49   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
ColdCast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States of America
Posts: 344
Default

Don't suppose you could help me find where it says that for outflanking, or reserves in general? I can't seem to find it anywhere in the BRB.
__________________
Commander Coldwind Vash'ya - Tau 2500 pts

Tau ARE humanity. The Imperium is the Covenant.
Orks are the flood.
ColdCast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On