Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Markerlight question
Reply
Old 25 Sep 2013, 03:37   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Question Markerlight question

I'm outrageously new to 40k, with only 3 games under my belt. Yesterday I was playing against a Guard player who took 2 fliers and 3 transports to our 1000 point game. During said game I tagged one of the transports with 4 markerlights, and with the help of 1, destroyed it with a fusion blaster. Anyway, after the troops disembarked, I was wondering if the markerlights that were once on the vehicle would move to the troops. We didn't really discuss it, because I was steamrolling pretty hard and didn't think it would make a difference if they vanished. But for future reference; would the markerlights fizzle, or move to the disembarked squad?
Marformation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Sep 2013, 03:56   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: the united states
Posts: 217
Default

they hit the transport not the unit inside, so no, they dont carry over
__________________
"i've seen things you wouldn't believe- entire worlds in flames, chains of super novas on the edge of nothingness, the great hole in space. I am changed, an outcast now" -farsight
steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Sep 2013, 04:32   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
ColdCast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States of America
Posts: 344
Default

They always apply per unit. The infantry inside a transport is considered a separate unit, so the markerlights do not hit both no matter how the infantry disembarks from the transport. The same is true of independent characters. If an independent character joins a unit and that unit is hit with markerlights, those markerlights apply to that character as well as the rest of the unit but only while he has joined that unit.

Keep in mind however that no saves of any kind can be made against markerlights. So should you have some markerlights that haven't fired that turn, they could then light the now disembarked infantry and they wouldn't get a cover save against those hits.
ColdCast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On