Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Close combat avoidance, and other Tau thoughts
Old 15 Jul 2013, 15:05   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Close combat avoidance, and other Tau thoughts

I am very new to Warhammer, so I don't know much, but now I have played 3 whole games, and feel like I have learned a few things, and generated way more questions. The last game was the first >750 game and I used a Hammerhead and Riptide for the first time.

First, I put a riptide on the board last game and was somewhat bummed about how it turned out. So a dreadnought dropod'ed on me. I did some damage, but eventually was assaulted. A powerfist can instant death a Riptide, apparently (S12 weapon). Is it just a fact, that you must not get into assault?

I also had a Hammerhead get assaulted by just two assault marines (maybe just the sergant?) and it blew up immediately.

The last game was not all bad:
I was very happy with the Shadowsun w/ Stealth Team setup. Adding a markerlight drone or two, would be nice to chain markerlights, but I did not have the points to spend. Overall that group was mobile and very deadly; the 3 Fusion and 2 burst handed a Predator almost singlehanded and also did a number on some a Land Speeder and a few pesky Space Marines with Lascannons (powerful gun there!).

I also found that a railgun in a pathfinder team is pretty darn cool, I want to try adding one or two more? I only had one railgun, and because the squad is static the heavy railgun fits right in and packs a punch. The recon drone, with it's two wounds and bust cannon, was an OK at keeping people away and my pathfinders protected.

Adding Cadre to a large Fire Warrior squad can help setup a very awesome gunline. Doubling the shots, while camping on an Objective worked pretty well.

I am really enjoying 40K, building, starting to paint and playing - I like it all.