Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Need help with this armylist [555 pts.]
Closed Thread
Old 17 Oct 2005, 18:19   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Send a message via ICQ to Yamamaya Send a message via MSN to Yamamaya
Default Need help with this armylist [555 pts.]

I'm quite new to WH40K, but I already got a glimpse on the tactics of Tau armies. This is what I've come up with sofar:

1 Ethereal (HQ) @ 50 Pts
* * *2 Close Combat Weapons

6 Fire Warriors (Troops) @ 145 Pts
* * *Pulse Rifle (x6)
* * *1 Devilfish Dropship
* * * * * Burst Cannon; Landing Gear
* * * * * #Pair of Gun Drones
* * * * * * * *2 Gun Drones
* * * * * Decoy Launcher

3 Crisis Battlesuit Team (Elites) @ 168 Pts
* * *TL Missile Pod; Target Lockers
3 Crisis Battlesuit Team (Elites) @ 192 Pts
* * *TL Plasma Rifle
* * *3 Gun Drones

Models in Army: 19
Total Army Cost: 555

Since it is my first army, it will be quite an expensive one for the start, but from what I've been told, it's a very potent one. I would like to know your opinion on this list, and, probably, some idea of a simplier or cheaper one... Maybe using 2 12-men Fire Warriors teams mounted in Devilfishes would be a better idea?

Thank you for your kind advice in advance.

EDIT: Removed personal units costs, only left totals.
Old 17 Oct 2005, 18:46   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Send a message via MSN to Khaldun
Default Re: Need help with this armylist [555 pts.]

Welcome to TO, Yamamaya!

So, your list...

Pretty good for a first timer.

Drop the ethereal first; in small games it is not only difficult to protect him, but he only benefits a few units. save him for games when you have AT LEAST 5 units that benefit from him.

with the points you spent on him, add fw's to your list.

your two crisis teams are overkill in 500 points; any enemy armor will easily be taken care of by a lone monat or two with twin missiles. after the 1st few turns, the deathrains (twin missiles) will run out of things to shoot well.