Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New to the Game
Closed Thread
Old 14 Sep 2005, 01:40   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Send a message via AIM to icehouse1203 Send a message via Yahoo to icehouse1203
Default New to the Game

Hello, Im new to the game and I want to play Space Marines but I have no clue what chapter I want to play. Just wondering if I could get some info from some people to help decide what I would like to play.

Thanks
Old 14 Sep 2005, 03:30   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: New to the Game

a really easy way to do it is just to start with regular space marines (and a chapter name of your choice...be as creative as you want. and maybe come up with a nice paint scheme), build up a smallish force, find out how the game works and your style of play, then you can change whatever you need to from there.

of course, if you already have some preference left over from wherever (maybe old computer games, RPG's, and so on), for a particular style of play, then follow through on it...impulse is good

tho if you're looking for a specific chapter to play, i'd have to advocate space wolves...real hard-arses in close combat, with a very short-ranged style of play, involving a mix of mid-to-short range shooting followed by some full-on combat just to polish the enemy off. however, the problem with focussed styles of play is that they tend to run into issues with certain other armies...which is why regular marines is a good way to go to start with. they can adapt to pretty much any situation...

"Well, a gathering is brie, mellow song stylings; shindig, dip, less mellow song stylings, perhaps a large amount of malt beverage; and hootenanny, well, it's chock full of hoot, just a little bit of nanny." Oz (Buffy, episode 2, season 3)

"I don't like coke, i just like the way it smells" Unknown

"and in the words of our lord and saviour, jesus christ, **** you if you can't take a joke" The Glass House
Old 14 Sep 2005, 07:07   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre