Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Deep strike
Reply
Old 05 Jun 2008, 13:35   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 30
Default Deep strike

I wasnt able to find the answer to this by searching, maybe someone here can help me out.

If i have an assault squad and a chaplain with a jump-pack, can i join the chaplain to the assault squad and deepstrike them as one unit.

Or can a Captain with terminator armour and a squad of terminators teleport in together?

I dont think it's possible, but I figure I would ask anyway

Thanks
bmackean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Jun 2008, 13:39   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Deep strike

The Codex specifically states that if a Character in Terminator Armour joins a unit of Terminators (Command, Normal or Assault), then they too can Deep Strike.

I would assume the same applies to Assault Marines, but I am not actually certain of that. Best check the wargear entry on the Jump Pack. I have a sneaking feeling that you cannot Deep Strike with a Jump Pack...
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Jun 2008, 14:21   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Deep strike

Unless they changed something Jump packs can deep strike.

As to the question, the Chaplin and the other unit can deep strike together, BUT you must roll for reserves seperately. If they are both available at the same time then they can join up. Otherwise they are not able to deep strike together.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Jun 2008, 14:29   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Deep strike

If we're talking Termies, JBunny, then that is incorrect.

As the Codex is clear a Terminator IC can only Deep Strike if he joins a unit, then he logically has to arrive along with them.


And as that is the case, I really doubt anyone would complain about an IC air-dropping with Assault Marines, providing you make it clear before making Reserve Rolls that the Chaplain and Assault Squad are clumped together as one unit.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Jun 2008, 15:43   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Deep strike

PLease look at the 4th page of the FAQ under the section Mission Special Rules 2nd Question.

It clearly states that you must roll for each FoC seperately. If they are both available then they can be joined and enter play by any legal means.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...08_Edition.pdf

So you can not state that they are joined before the battle and then only roll once for the combined squad.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Jun 2008, 17:09   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Deep strike

Ah, doesn't matter anyway. The current Codex says any model in Terminator Armour, so yes, you do roll for him seperately.

The previous rulesets did specify he had to be with a squad.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Jun 2008, 22:28   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 30
Default Re: Deep strike

I appreciate the clarifications guys.

So as long as they come in at the same time (a separate reserve roll for the commander and the assault squad) I can then join them and make 1 scatter roll?
bmackean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Jun 2008, 14:22   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 770
Default Re: Deep strike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buttonpants
I appreciate the clarifications guys.

So as long as they come in at the same time (a separate reserve roll for the commander and the assault squad) I can then join them and make 1 scatter roll?
Thats the way I play it.
JBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To deep strike or not..... darkane Tau 12 24 Oct 2008 21:02
Deep Strike Help RogueFox89 Tyranids 6 09 Oct 2007 17:14
Deep Strike Onto Yourself? MattyFoe General 40K 4 19 Jun 2007 02:29
Deep Strike Xygenic The Inquisition 7 26 Jul 2005 10:49
Deep Strike or Not to Deep Strike Crossfc Tau 12 16 May 2005 22:47