Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Dark Angels Tankbuster squad
Old 15 Aug 2007, 07:23   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Dark Angels Tankbuster squad

Bear in mind this is from a total newb. I simply want to share a tactic I came up with and find out if anyone else uses it, if there are better ways to use it and generally share the idea.

I'm often at a loss as to what to use my troop's for, what their role is. So usually they end up as either cannon fodder, or just sitting around an area hoping for targets of opportunity.

I decided to take a pro-active approach here and make a dedicated tank-hunting squad.

Consists of 4 guys and a sarge in a rhino (was going with razorback, but the rhino is cheaper and the 2 firing points seem to make it more effective.

They can also be a combat squad separate from the other half equipped with a heavy weapon.

Sarge has powerfist and plasma pistol.
One trooper has a meltagun.
The rest just have bolters, but bear in mind all dark angels are equipped with krak-grenades by default.

Idea is for them to pick a vehicle on the battlefield and then try to get as close as possible in the rhino. On the first turn they get in range, the Sarge can fire the plasma pistol and the trooper can fire the meltagun from the firing points on the rhino.

This usually stuns or shakes the crew of the tank at least if it doesn't outright kill them. Subsequent turns are used to disembark and eventually assault a vehicle.

On Assaults I get to fire a meltagun at close range which is very unfortunate for vehicles, as well as a plasma pistol (str 7). I also get four attacks with the sarge using the Powerfist (str8).

In an assault, everyone else on the squad gets to try and place a krak grenade as well. (4 guys needing a 6 usually and a 5 or a 6 to damage)